Course Home
Class schedule
E-mail the class

READING
Here's a state of things
How did it get this way?
Local Communities
Development
Local to Global


WRITING
How did it get this way?
Local Communities
Development
Local to Global

CLASS SCHEDULE



UNIT DAILY TOPICS
I. HERE'S A STATE OF THINGS
READINGS
Wednesday, January 8: Organization of the class
The current wisdom about China's environment
II. HOW DID IT GET THIS WAY?
READINGS
PAPER ASSIGNMENT
Friday, January 10: Sustainability and Resilience
Wednesday, January 15 Population
Friday, January 17 Agricultural Expansion and Intensification
Wednesday, January 22 Water and Waterworks
Friday, January 24 Cities, War, and Deforestation
Wednesday, January 29 Quiz on Basic Facts
Philosophy, Politics, and Nature
Monday, February 3: Unit II Paper Due 5:00 p.m.
III. THE ECOLOGY OF LOCAL COMMUNITIES
READINGS
PAPER ASSIGNMENT
Friday, January 31: Han Chinese Farmers
Wednesday, February 5: Upland Minority Mixed Economy
Friday, February 7 Central Asian Pastoralists
Monday, February 10: Unit III Paper Due 5:00 p.m.
IV. DEVELOPMENT AND ITS EFFECTS
READINGS
PAPER ASSIGNMENT
Wednesday, February 12: Socialism and Intensification
Friday, February 14: Economic Development and Energy
Wednesday, February 19: Food, Soil, and Water
Friday, February 21: Environmental Health
Wednesday, February 26: Forests, Deserts, and Landscapes
Monday, February 24: Unit IV Paper Due 5:00 p.m.
V. FROM LOCAL TO GLOBAL
READINGS
PAPER ASSIGNMENT
Friday, February 28: Han Chinese Farmers Now
Wednesday, March 5: Upland Minorities Now
Friday, March 7: Pastoralists Now
Wednesday, March 12: China's Global Environmental Footprint
Friday, March 14: Biodiversity, Conservation, and Environmentalism
Monday, March 17: Unit V Paper Due 5:00 p.m.