Principle Investigator:

Takato Imaizumi

I obtained my Ph.D. from the Tokyo Metropolitan University in Japan under the supervision of Dr. Masamitsu Wada. I joined the Department of Biology at the University of Washington in 2008. Before I moved to Seattle, I worked with Dr. Steve Kay for seven years in San Diego. I am interested in studying molecular mechanisms by which organisms respond to surrounding environmental changes.

Postdoctoral researchers:

Akane Kubota

Akane joined our lab in 2014. She received her Ph.D. from Kyoto University regarding studies of photoperiodic and circadian clock responses in bryophyte Marchantia.

Nayoung Lee

Nayoung joined our lab in 2017. She received her Ph.D. from Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology (KAIST) by studying the molecular mechanisms of light regulated germination in Arabidopsis.

Graduate students:

We are accepting a new graduate student this year, since two of previsous graduate students just received Ph.D. and graduated. To apply, please see details in our Biology graduate program website.

Postbaccalaureate students:

Matthew Lincoln

Matt graduaetd from UW in 2017 and became a postbac researcher since then. He is preparing for the graduate schools right now.

Undergraduate students:

LeAnn Nguyen (since Summer 2015) through UW GebOM Project

Rachel Lee (since Fall 2017)

Kayla Arnold (since Winter 2017) 

Lab alumni


Shogo Ito (2008-2012) - currently an Assistant Professor, Kyoto University, Japan

Young Hun Song (2009-2014) - currently an Assistant Professor, Ajou University, Korea

Jae Sung Shim (2013-2017)

Graduate students: 

Hannah Kinmonth-Schultz (2010-2016) - currently a postdoc at Dr. Joy Ward lab at the University of Kansas

Myles Fenske (2011-2017) - currently a postdoc at Dr. Consuelo De Moraes lab at the ETH Zurich

Greg Goralogia (2012-2017)


Sasha Strait (2008-2010) - currently a graduate student at the University of Colorado, Denver

Kristen Hewett/Hazelton (2009-2010, 2013-2014)  - currently a lab technician at the Department of Biology, the University of Washington

Daniel Estrada (2013-2014) - currently studying at the University of Washington School of Dentistry

Undergraduate students:

Benjamin To (Summer 2009 - Winter 2011) - HHMI Integrated Research Internship Program, Undergraduate Research Symposium posters, currently a lab technician at University of Washington

Joseph Shen (Summer 2009 - Winter 2011)

Ricardo Guitierrez (Summer 2009 - Spring 2011) - Honors program, currently studying at a medical school at University of Southern California

Kristen Zimel (Fall 2009 - Spring 2010) - currently studying nursing at National University in San Diego

Anna Josephson-Day (Fall 2009 - Spring 2012) - The Space Grant Summer Undergraduate Research Program (WSGS) scholarship, currently a graduate student at University of California, Berkely

Edward Wang (Winter 2010 - Spring 2011)

Thao-Vy Vo (Winter 2010 - Spring 2011)

Diana Cha (Spring 2010 - Spring 2011) - currently agraduate student at Vanderbilt University 

Willow Bittner (Spring 2010 - Fall 2011)

Aswathypriya Nair (Spring 2010 - Spring 2011)

ShanShan Sun (Spring 2010 - Fall 2011)

Sheila Thomas (Winter 2011 - Summer 2011)

Emily Chau (Winter 2011 - Winter 2012)

Andy Hempton (Winter 2011 - Spring 2015) - Honors program, currently  a graduate student at Yale University

Richard Hsieh (Summer 2011 - Winter 2012)

Somi Kim (Spring 2012 - Winter 2012)

Daniel Estrada (Winter 2012 - Spring 2013) - Honors program

Tara Chandran (Spring 2012 - Spring 2013)

Nnadozie Okoroafor (Summer 2012 - Spring 2013)

David Kang (Fall 2012 - Spring 2013)

Jae Lee (Spring 2013 - Spring 2014)

Khan Mohammad (Spring 2013 - Spring 2014)

Micheal Kwon (Spring 2013 - Spring 2015)

John Villanueva (Summer 2013 - Spring 2014)

Elaine Kow (Spring 2013 - Spring 2014)

Ruihan Wang (Spring 2013 - Spring 2015) - Honors program

Xinran Tong (Spring 2013 - Summer 2015) - Honors program

Ron Nguyen (Spring 2013 - Spring 2014)

Roxanna Llinas (Fall 2013 - Spring 2014) - currently  a graduate student at Rice University

Loney Hill (Fall 2013 Winter 2014)

Leema Singh (Fall 2013 - Spring 2014)

Breanne Yamamoto (Spring 2014 - Summer 2015)

Mandee Yang (Winter 2014)

Uchechi Okoroafor (Fall 2014)

Ellie Taagen (Spring 2015)

Yash Bains (Spring 2015)

David Day (Summer 2015)

Dianne Laboy (Summer 2015 - Spring 2017)


Amita Banerjee - currently a graduate student at the School of Environmental and Forest Sciences at the University of Washington

Masha Khy- currently agraduate student at the School of Environmental and Forest Sciences at the University of Washington

Richa Rai

Kayva Crawford 

Jimmy Grandinette (Summer 2015)

© Takato Imaizumi 2013