AMATH 383: Introduction to Continuous Mathematical Modeling

TTh 1:00-2:20, MGH 241
(Prerequisites: AMATH 351 or MATH 307)

Instructor:

Professor Hong Qian
Guggenheim 415E
tel: 543-2584
fax: 685-1440
office hours: see syllabus
and

Teaching Assistants:

Mr. Donsub Rim
Guggenheim 406
tel: 685-
fax: 685-
office hours: see syllabus.


Course description Textbook Syllabus Schedule

Course Description

Introductory survey of applied mathematics with emphasis on modeling of physical and biological problems in terms of differential equations. Formulation, solution, and interpretation of the results.

Textbook

Topics in Mathematical Modeling, by K.K. Tung, Princeton University Press, Hardcover. (It is available at the University Book Store.)

Syllabus

Schedule and Homework

Homework and Exams Homework Due Date Homework Problem Sets Homework Solutions
First day of classes Tuesday, January 8
Tuesday, January 17 Tuesday, January 24 Homework # 1 Homework #1 Solutions
Martin Luther King Day Monday, January 21 No class
Thursday, January 24 Thursday, January 31 Homework # 2 Homework #2 Solutions
Thursday, January 31 Thursday, February 7 Homework # 3 Homework #3 Solutions
Homework#4 due Thursday, Feb. 14 Homework # 4
PresidenT's Day Monday, February 18 No class
Thursday, Feb. 21 Term Paper Proposal Due
Homework#5 due Thrursday, Feb. 28 Homework # 5
Thurdsay, March 14 Term Paper Due
Last day of classes Friday, March 15

Grading

There will be no exams. There will be 5 homework assignments, each counting 10% towards the final grade. There is a term paper (40% of the final grade). The remaining 10% is for class participation.

Additional Course Materials, Notes, etc.

Week 1: Notes

Week 2: Notes

February 7: Notes

February 19: Notes

February 26: Notes

March 7: Notes

Some Pictures


<qian@amath.washington.edu> Tue Dec 7 16:30:37 PST 2010