The World Health Organization (WHO) Fights Tobacco
40 Countries Sign Tobacco Treaty

June 25, 2003

The World Health Organization (WHO) estimates that 5 million people are killed by tobacco smoking each year. To fight the problems associated with tobacco, the WHO drafted the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC). The FCTC is an international agreement that addresses issues such as tobacco advertising, smuggling and taxes. The goal of the FCTC is to reduce the use of tobacco and prevent health problems associated with smoking.

Countries that have signed the FCTC
Algeria Bangladesh Botswana Brazil Burundi
Czech Republic Democratic People's
Republic of Korea
Denmark Egypt Finland
France Gambia Ghana Greece Hungary
Iceland Islamic Republic of Iran Israel Italy Kuwait
Luxembourg Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius Mongolia
Mozambique Netherlands New Zealand Norway Palau
Paraguay Qatar Senegal South Africa Spain
Sweden Thailand United Kingdom Uruguay Yemen
The European Community has also signed the FCTC.

It is great to see international support to combat nicotine addiction and the health problems associated with tobacco use.

References and further information:

  1. Tobacco Treaty Draws 41 Signatures in First Week - WHO Press Release
  2. Summary of the FCTC - from the WHO
  3. Cigarette Ads - A Promise Broken - from Neuroscience for Kids
  4. Nicotine - from Neuroscience for Kids
  5. The Power of Nicotine - from Neuroscience for Kids

GO TO: Neuroscience In The News Explore the Nervous System Table of Contents

Send E-mail

Fill out survey

Get Newsletter

Search Pages

Take Notes