Index ← 3820 CFJ 3821 3822 → text
===============================  CFJ 3821  ===============================

      twg is both Speaker and Prime Minister.

==========================================================================

Caller:                        Publius Scribonius Scholasticus

Judge:                         Alexis
Judgement:                     FALSE

==========================================================================

History:

Called by Publius Scribonius Scholasticus:        01 Mar 2020 14:33:27
Assigned to Alexis:                               03 Mar 2020 00:24:43
Judged FALSE by Alexis:                           09 Mar 2020 14:49:27

==========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

twg deputised for the Prime Minister and it was not noted as a
temporary deputisation, therefore e became Prime Minister. However, e
also made emself Speaker. One of these was not possible, according to
R2472, which states, "Rules to the contrary notwithstanding, a player
CANNOT be installed into an office if doing so would make em
Overpowered." However, if one of these wasn't possible, then the other
was. This seems to create a paradox.

However, R103 says:
     If the Prime Minister is emself Laureled, eir power to appoint a
     Speaker continues for the entirety of a message in which e resigns as
     Prime Minister, and if e is the only Laureled player, e CAN void that
     power, and thereby discharge the obligation to use it, by announcing
     that e declines to take the office.

This is interesting because it doesn't specify that the Prime Minister
must end the message out of the office, so it is possible that this
message qualified since it included a resignation from the Prime
Minister.


Caller's Evidence:

On Sun, Mar 1, 2020 at 9:05 AM Timon Walshe-Grey wrote:
>
> I resign Tailor. I deputise for Tailor to grant Alexis 19 coins for eir
> Emerald Glitter (awarded Feb 27, after the Notary election). I award
> myself Cyan Glitter for deputising for Tailor.
>
> I perform the following actions 200 times: {
>     I resign Tailor. I deputise for Tailor to grant myself 10 coins for
>     my Cyan Glitter. I award myself Cyan Glitter for deputising for
>     Tailor.
> }
>
> I give CuddleBeam 1000 coins. I act on CuddleBeam's behalf to pay 1000
> coins to win the game. I appoint CuddleBeam Speaker. I award CuddleBeam
> a Platinum Ribbon.
>
> I pay 1000 coins to win the game. I resign Prime Minister and then
> deputise for Prime Minister to appoint myself Speaker. I award myself a
> Platinum Ribbon and Cyan Glitter.
>
> -twg

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Judge Alexis's Arguments:

R2160 is quite clear in excluding its own application ("other than by
deputisation"). I don't see how the plain meaning of the text of the
rules can have any other reasonable interpretation. R2160 only looks
at whether the player could, in its hypothetical, perform the action
or not. It does not care why. In the hypothetical where twg was also
PM, e could not appoint emself Speaker by R2472. Therefore e cannot
deputise to do it.

==========================================================================