Index ← 3738 CFJ 3739 3740 → text
===============================  CFJ 3739  ===============================

      A person earns a Cyan Ribbon when e temporarily deputises for an
      office.

==========================================================================

Caller:                        G.

Judge:                         Falsifian
Judgement:                     TRUE

==========================================================================

History:

Called by G.:                                     16 Jun 2019 18:34:55
Assigned to Falsifian:                            18 Jun 2019 07:50:37
Judged TRUE by Falsifian:                         22 Jun 2019 02:29:03

==========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

From Rule 2438 (Ribbons):
      Cyan (C): When a person deputises for an office, that person earns
      a Cyan Ribbon.

The question is whether "temporary deputisation" is a sub-category of
"deputisation" (deserving of a Ribbon) or if the qualifier makes it
something totally separate and not ribbon-earning.

From Rule 2160 (Deputisation):
      5. the deputy, when performing the action, announces that e is
         doing so by deputisation or by temporary deputisation
      [...]
      When a player deputises for an elected office, e becomes the
      holder of that office, unless the action being performed would
      already install someone into that office, and/or unless the
      deputisiation is temporary.

The "deputisation or by temporary deputisation" implies they're
distinct things and not sub-categories, but the "unless the
deputisation is temporary" implies one is a sub-category of the other
(these are the only usages in the whole Ruleset of the term
"temporary".

It makes some kinda sense that a ribbon reward is reserved for when
you actually take on an office, but I don't have a prejudice
otherwise: FWIW when I wrote the "temporary" rule I didn't think about
ribbons at all so there was no particular intent.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gratuitous argument from R. Lee:

> Gratuitous argument. Even if "deputisation" or "temporary
deputisation" are
> totally distinct categories, the Cyan Ribbon category uses the word
> "deputises" rather than "deputisation". A person who engages in "temporary
> deputisation", even if distinct from "deputisation" still engages in the
> _verb_ "deputising".

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gratuitous argument from ais523:

> The origin of the "you get a Cyan Ribbon for deputising" rule is older
> than the "you gain an office by deputising for it" rule (although the
> former hasn't been in the ruleset continuously, it was repealed for a
> while and came back later). So at the time the concept was created,
> deputising had no connotation of taking on the office at all, only of
> helping to keep Agora running despite delinquency in the reports.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Judge Falsifian's Arguments:

Rule 2438 (Ribbons) says: "When a person deputises for an office, that
person earns a Cyan Ribbon." As R. Lee points out, this uses the verb
"deputises" rather than the noun "deputisation". The rules don't
directly define that verb, so let's use some common sense.

The only other references to the verb "deputise" I see are in Rule 2160
(Deputisation):

> A player (the deputy) CAN perform an action ordinarily reserved
> for an office-holder as if e held the office if
...
> 4. either (i) the office is vacant, (ii) the aforementioned time
>    limit expired more than fourteen days ago, or (iii) the deputy
>    announced between two and fourteen days earlier that e intended
>    to deputise for that office for the purposes of the particular
>    action; and
...
> When a player deputises for an elected office, e becomes the
> holder of that office, unless the action being performed would
> already install someone into that office, and/or unless the
> deputisiation is temporary.

Both of these uses imply that to use temporary deputisation is to
deputise. The first, "...e intended to deputise for that office..."
would still make sense if "deputise" were defined more narrowly, though
in my opinion it would be strange. The second, though, is more clear:
"When a player deputises ... e becomes ... unless ... the deputisation
is temporary." There would be no reason for that "unless" if the verb
"deputises" didn't include temporary deputisation.

The caller argues "It makes some kinda sense that a ribbon reward is
reserved for when you actually take on an office". It may be in the best
interests of the game for this to be the case, but deputisation only
barely requires a player to "take" an office, since e can resign
immediately after deputisation, so this does not seem like a strong
argument. (I am not sure whether the player would be required to fulfill
that office's weekly and monthly duties because e held the office at
some point during that week or month, but even if that were the case, I
think the common-sense argument about the meaning of the verb "deputise"
would be hard to deny.)

I judge CFJ 3739 TRUE.

==========================================================================