Index ← 3661 CFJ 3662 3663 → text
===============================  CFJ 3662  ===============================

      This Notice of Honour causes a player's karma to change by exactly
      one and then change back.

==========================================================================

Caller:                        Trigon

Judge:                         D. Margaux
Judgement:                     FALSE

==========================================================================

History:

Called by Trigon:                                 23 Sep 2018 20:02:58
Assigned to D. Margaux:                           23 Sep 2018 20:45:53
Judged FALSE by D. Margaux:                       28 Sep 2018 17:07:19

==========================================================================

Caller's Evidence:

On Sun, Sep 23, 2018, 14:02 Reuben Staley wrote:
>
> I submit this notice of honor:
>
> -1 to D. Margaux for being a manipulator
> +1 to D Margaux for helping debug zombie rules


Caller's Arguments:

In standard English, initials can be spelled with periods and spaces
between them, with only periods, with only spaces, or with nothing. For
example:

J. R. R. Tolkien
J.R.R. Tolkien
J R R Tolkien
JRR Tolkien

All four aforementioned names refer to the same person, John Ronald Reuel
Tolkien. Since all players are persons, it follows that initials should be
accepted using any method of separation.

Therefore, "D. Margaux" and "D Margaux" refer to the same person, a person
who registered during April of this year.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Judge D. Margaux's Arguments:

This CFJ raises three questions.

1. Rule 2510 provides that a published Notice of Honour is EFFECTIVE inter 
alia only if it is “clear that [the published message is] a Notice of 
Honour.”  Trigon evidently attempted to publish a Notice of Honour by 
stating, “I submit this notice of honor.”  The first question is whether 
it is “clear” that this misspelled “notice of honor” is a “Notice of 
Honour.”

“Honor” and “Honour” are accepted alternate spellings of the same word. 
Any reasonable player would understand that Trigon’s message was 
publishing a Notice of Honour under Rule 2510.  And it would cause great 
mischief, and opportunities for lame and annoying scams to the detriment 
of the game, if the use of accepted alternative spellings or minor 
typographical errors could defeat the EFFECTIVEness of a message that is 
otherwise clearly and unmistakably an attempt to undertake a valid game 
action.

Accordingly, I judge that the spelling of “Honour” as “honor” does not 
defeat the EFFECTIVEness of Trigon’s Notice of Honour. 

2. Trigon’s Notice of Honour attempted to remove one karma from “D. 
Margaux” and add one karma to “D Margaux.” The second question is whether 
those two names both are acceptable ways to refer to the same player 
(i.e., me, the judge in this case).

There are no Rules that require players to have only one single immutable 
“name.”  Rule 2139 requires the Registrar to maintain “information 
sufficient to identify and contact each player,” but it does not require 
the Registrar to maintain a single official “name” for players.

It would also cause great mischief and opportunities for annoying and lame 
scams if actions that plainly and unmistakably named a player were deemed 
INEFFECTIVE because the name had a minor and insubstantial typo or used a 
commonly recognized spelling variation.

Last month, I sent a registration message signed “--D. Margaux,” from an 
email account with an email name “D Margaux .”   
Any reasonable player would perceive that both “D Margaux” and “D. 
Margaux” refer to the same entity (me). Several messages have referred to 
me using either of those two variations without comment from any player or 
any indication of confusion or ambiguity.

Accordingly, I judge that Trigon’s message named me as the player to both 
gain and lose one karma in eir Notice of Honour.

3. The CFJ requires me to decide not only whether Trigon issued a valid 
Notice of Honour, but also whether that Notice _sequentially_ lowered and 
then raised my karma. In particular, the CFJ reads, “This Notice of Honour 
causes a player's karma to change by exactly one and _then_ change back” 
(emphasis added).

As decided by CFJ 3657, a valid Notice of Honour transfers karma from one 
entity to another simultaneously, not in sequence.

As a result, although the Notice of Honour did add and subtract one karma 
from me, that addition and subtraction occurred simultaneously, not 
sequentially.  It did not lower “then” raise my karma (or vice versa).

Accordingly, I judge that the CFJ is FALSE.


Judge D. Margaux's Evidence:

Rule 2139/14 (The Registrar)
> The Registrar is an office; its holder is responsible for keeping track 
> of players. The Registrar's weekly report includes:
>
>  1. A list of all players, including information sufficient to identify 
>     and contact each player. . . .

Rule 2510/4 (Such is Karma)
> . . .
> A player CAN publish a Notice of Honour. For a Notice of Honour to be 
> valid, it must:
>      1. Be clear that it is a Notice of Honour, and be the first valid 
>         Notice of Honour that player has published in the current week;
>      2. Specify any other player or Agora to gain karma, and provide a 
>         reason for specifying that player; and
>      3. Specify any player or Agora to lose karma, and provide a reason 
>         for specifying that player.
>      4. Not result in Agora's karma moving farther away from 0.
> . . .

==========================================================================