Index ← 3656 CFJ 3657 3658 → text
===============================  CFJ 3657  ===============================

      This message contains a valid Notice of Honour.

==========================================================================

Caller:                        twg

Judge:                         G.
Judgement:                     FALSE

==========================================================================

History:

Called by twg:                                    26 Aug 2018 10:08:29
Assigned to G.:                                   26 Aug 2018 18:48:54
Judged FALSE by G.:                               07 Sep 2018 18:35:03

==========================================================================

Caller's Evidence:

On Sun, Aug 26, 2018 at 4:08 AM, twg wrote:
> The following is a Notice of Honour:
>
> +1 Agora (setting up a scenario for a CFJ)
> -1 Agora (setting up a scenario for a CFJ)


Caller's Arguments:

CuddleBeam attempted to query this in CFJ 3638, but didn't include the 
word "valid", so Judge V.J. Rada interpreted it literally (it is a Notice 
of Honour, regardless of whether it is valid or not). But that didn't 
resolve the question of whether it is possible to affect Agora's karma 
like this: do the addition and subtraction of karma happen consecutively 
(meaning Agora's karma moves further away from 0 before moving back again, 
making the Notice invalid) or concurrently?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Judge G's Arguments:

First, this is trivially FALSE as the message in question was the second
Notice of Honour submitted by the caller in the week.  So I find FALSE.

However, laying aside that trivial issue, I'd like to address this bit of 
relevant argument from CuddleBeam, who gives two possibilities:
> - It's not a notice of honor because it causes Agora's Honor to go
> further away from 0 and only an individual action happens per instant
> as per CFJ 2086, so the -1 would need to happen first, but since it
> would make Agora's Honor go further than 0, it doesn't happen.
> - It's a notice of honor because the notice of honor as a single unit
> is the action, not the individual movements it's composed of.

By R2510, a notice of Honour is a single action that a player CAN do:
> A player CAN publish a Notice of Honour...

Since there's no way that a player CAN publish half a notice-of-honour and 
have it be valid, it's a single action.

This is further backed later in the rule, where it defines the results of 
a Notice of Honour as a "transfer". Using the common sense interpretation 
of transfer (as with assets), a transfer is a single action that happens 
to simultaneously change two records (the balances of both parties 
involved).

Finally it is clear from the list structure in R2510:
> For a Notice of Honour to be valid, it must:
[...]
>      4. Not result in Agora's karma moving farther away from 0.

that the "result" applies to the effects of the overall notice of honour
(the simultaneous increase/decrease), not to the other individual items
on the list (1-3).

So if it weren't for the twice-in-one-week thing, a "to Agora -> from
Agora" Notice of Honour would be valid.


Judge G.'s Evidence

Rule 2510/3 (Power=1.0)
Such is Karma

       Karma is a person switch tracked by the Herald in eir Weekly
       Report. Karma is an Integer switch. Agora also has an instance of
       the Karma switch.

       A player CAN publish a Notice of Honour. For a Notice of Honour
       to be valid, it must:

       1. Be clear that it is a Notice of Honour, and be the first valid
          Notice of Honour that player has published in the current week;

       2. Specify any other player or Agora to gain karma, and provide a
          reason for specifying that player; and

       3. Specify any player or Agora to lose karma, and provide a reason
          for specifying that player.

       4. Not result in Agora's karma moving farther away from 0.

       When a valid Notice of Honour is published, the entity specified
       to gain karma has eir karma increased by one, and the entity
       specified to lose karma has eir karma decreased by one. Raising
       one entity's karma while lowering another's in this manner is
       considered to be a "transfer" of karma.

       A player's positions in Court are defined as follows:

       - Any player with a karma of 7 or greater is a Samurai.

       - Any player with a karma of -7 or less is an Gamma.

       - The player with the highest karma (if any) is the Shogun.

       - The player with the lowest karma (if any) is the Honourless
         Worm.

       Each player's positions in Court are part of of the Herald's
       Weekly Report.

==========================================================================