Index ← 3651 CFJ 3652 3653 → text
===============================  CFJ 3652  ===============================

      If a person pays the (nonzero) upkeep cost for eir Rank 1 facility
      and then upgrades it to Rank 2 in the same month, e must pay the
      full Rank 2 upkeep cost to prevent its end-of-the-month
      destruction.

==========================================================================

Caller:                        G.

Judge:                         D. Margaux
Judgement:                     IRRELEVANT

==========================================================================

History:

Called by G.:                                     20 Jul 2018 18:47:04
Assigned to Publius Scribonius Scholasticus:      23 Jul 2018 00:03:52
Publius Scribonius Scholasticus Recused:          26 Aug 2018 18:44:38
Assigned to Corona:                               26 Aug 2018 18:44:38
Corona Recused:                                   01 Oct 2018 03:01:21
Assigned to CuddleBeam:                           01 Oct 2018 03:01:21
CuddleBeam Recused:                               20 Oct 2018 13:05:28
Assigned to Murphy:                               20 Oct 2018 13:05:28
Murphy Recused:                                   27 Oct 2018 19:47:42
Assigned to D. Margaux:                           27 Oct 2018 19:47:42
Judged IRRELEVANT by D. Margaux:                  27 Oct 2018 19:47:32

==========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

Rule 2560 (Facilities) reads in part:
      If an entity other than Agora owns any facilities with upkeep
      costs, e must pay them before the first day of the next Agoran
      month. Failing to do this destroys the facility. In the second to
      last Eastman week of the Agoran Month, the Cartographor SHOULD
      issue a humiliating public reminder to all those who have not paid
      upkeep fees on any of eir facilities.

There's a few ways of interpreting this clause:

1.  At the end of the month, the facility is Rank 2 and has a Rank 2 
Upkeep cost.  Has the Rank 2 Upkeep cost been paid?  If not, the facility 
is destroyed. (argument for TRUE).

2.  At the end of the month, has e paid an appropriate upkeep cost for 
that facility at any point in the month?  If so, e has met the conditions, 
even if the upkeep cost later changes, and the facility is not destroyed 
(argument for FALSE).

3.  Upkeep costs are additive - if e payed the Rank 1 fee, e can later pay
the difference after e upgrades (FALSE with different implications - I 
don't think this one holds up under precedent of single payment for fees, 
but including for completeness).

In interpreting, note the new Rules definition of costs/fees in EVIDENCE,
below.


Caller's Evidence:

Full text of Fee-based Actions (power-3):

  If the Rules associate payment of a set of assets (hereafter
  the fee for the action; syns: cost, price, charge) with performing an
  action, that action is a fee-based action.

  If the fee is a non-integer quantity of a fungible asset, the actual
  fee is the next highest integer amount of that asset.

  To perform a fee-based action, an entity (the Actor) who is
  otherwise permitted to perform the action must announce that e
  is performing the action; the announcement must specify the
  correct set of assets for the fee and indicate intent
  to pay that fee for the sole purpose of performing the action.

  Upon such an announcement:

    - If the Rules specify a recipient for the fee, and the Actor
      CAN transfer that specified fee from emself to the recipient,
      then that fee is transferred from the Actor to the recipient
      and the action is performed simultaneously;

    - If the Rules do not specify a recipient, and the Actor CAN
      destroy the specified fee in eir possession, then that fee
      in eir possession is destroyed and the action is
      performed simultaneously.

    - Otherwise, no changes are made to asset holdings and the
      action is not performed.

  If the Rules define a fee-based action but the specified
  set of assets is the empty set, then the action can be performed by
  announcement, but the announcement must include that there
  is an (empty or 0) fee for the action.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Judge D. Margaux's Arguments:

I judge CFJ 3652 to be IRRELEVANT because the cited rules have been 
repealed.

==========================================================================