Index ← 3480 CFJ 3481 3482 → text
=============================  CFJ 3481  =============================

      I own at least one Shiny.

======================================================================

Caller:                     Roujo                                 

Judge:                      Aris            
Judgement:                  FALSE

======================================================================

History:

Called by Roujo:             2 May 2017
Assigned to Aris:            4 May 2017 (timing disputed by CFJ)
Judged FALSE by Aris:       13 May 2017

======================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

It doesn't seem like the rule cares that I reregistered shortly after, 
so I'm under the impression that I just transferred all of my current 
balance, and not the one I had previously.

======================================================================

Judge's Arguments:


Rule 2485 specifies no new method of transferring shinies, except in that it
allows and requires the Secretary (recently amended to the Registrar) to take
the former player's estate for Agora. This mechanism is obviously not being used
here, as it is only available to the relevant officer. Instead, e must be
referencing the provision that "e may specify another player, an organization,
or Agora and pay all of eir Balance to the specified player or organization."
I have a bit of trouble interpreting this. The directive is ambiguous and
underspecified. For one thing, it doesn't say what happens if the the person
specifies Agora after eir deregistration, rather than a player or organization,
which is probably an accidental omission. I think that the overall most
reasonable way to interpret this is that it grants the player control to give
their balance to whoever they wish, even after they deregister. A logical
implication is that they may be able to divide their estate up among
multiple parties, but I'll leave that to a later CFJ. I'd also note that they
could probably exempt themselves from the powers of the officer by paying
themselves, or by paying just the amount they had at deregistration. I
would also
suggest that the rule should be clarified, as it doesn't appear to contemplate
the possibility of reregistration. As my findings indicate that the caller
merely transferred eir entire balance to Agora, I rule FALSE.

======================================================================

Judge's Evidence:

Message from Roujo:
  Right! Pertaining to my recent deregistration, I specify Agora and pay my
  balance according to rule 2485. I flip my Heir switch to Agora.

Relevant part of Rule 2485 (at the time in question):
  When a player is deregistered, if eir Heir switch is not empty, e
  automatically pays all of eir Balance to the named player or organization.
  Otherwise, if eir Heir switch is empty, e may specify another player, an
  organization, or Agora and pay all of eir Balance to the specified player or
  organization. If the player does not do so within 1 day of deregistration, the
  Secretary CAN and SHALL cause that player to pay eir Balance to Agora, by
  announcement.

======================================================================