============================== CFJ 3304 ==============================
The office of Registrar is Postulated.
Called by scshunt: 12 Apr 2013 21:41:41 GMT
Assigned to Machiavelli: 14 Apr 2013 07:57:38 GMT
Judged TRUE by Machiavelli: 15 Apr 2013 19:06:36 GMT
Per Rule 2276, "An active first-class player can make emself the holder of an
elected office by announcement, provided that the office is either vacant or
Assumed. Upon doing so, the office's Assumption is flipped to Assumed."
If the first CFJ is TRUE, then the office was still Postulated when I assumed
it. It was not until after I assumed it that it became Assumed. Then " If a
player has held an Assumed office continuously since the last time it was
Postulated, e can flip its Assumption to Postulated by announcement."
I assume Registrar. I flip Registrar to Postulated.
Judge Machiavelli's Arguments:
Given the result of CFJ 3303, I think CFJ 3304 seems straightforward. First,
Registrar was vacant and Postulated. Next, scshunt made emself the holder of
Registrar by announcement. Then, Rule 2276 flipped Registrar to Assumed. Thus,
scshunt was the holder of Registrar when it was Postulated (albeit only for a
single instant), and so he had "held an Assumed office continuously since the
last time it was Postulated", allowing em to flip the office to Postulated. I
I don't actually like the TRUE/TRUE verdict here, because I don't think it
makes sense to allow arbitrary active first-class players to assume an office
and then make it Postulated (and I don't think it makes sense to distinguish
between Assumed and Postulated vacant offices), but I feel like a FALSE/FALSE
verdict would be worse, and I don't see any grounds for a TRUE/FALSE verdict.