============================== CFJ 3303 ==============================
The office of Registrar is Postulated.
Called by scshunt: 12 Apr 2013 21:41:41 GMT
Assigned to Machiavelli: 14 Apr 2013 07:57:38 GMT
Judged TRUE by Machiavelli: 15 Apr 2013 19:06:36 GMT
Per Rule 2276, "When the holder of an office ceases to be an active player,
the office's Assumption is flipped to Assumed."
The holder of Registrar did not cease to be an active player; an active player
ceased to be holder of Registrar.
On Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 5:34 PM, omd wrote:
> On Fri, Apr 12, 2013 at 4:58 PM, omd wrote:
> > Oops. Campaign pledge: if re-elected, I'll actually notice that I'm
> > the Registrar.
> I resign Registrar per scshunt's request on IRC, but this stands.
Judge Machiavelli's Arguments:
I refer to Judge ais523's arguments for CFJ 2729:
> I interpret "the holder of an office ceases to be an active player" as "an
> officer ceases to be an active player", not "an event occurs before
> which an office was held by an active player and after which that office
> was not held by an active player", because the two readings do exactly
> the same thing (due to the irrelevance of the assumption of a vacant
> office) except that in the situation where an inactive player becomes an
> officer via a mechanism in another rule, the first reading makes the
> office unambiguously Postulated, whereas the second reading makes the
> office Postulated via Cretans; for an ambiguous sentence like that,
> where both meanings come to the same thing, it makes sense to pick the
> meaning where the rule does not contradict itself. Even if I picked the
> other interpretation, though, the verdict would be the same.
So, suppose that the office of Registrar is held by Player 1, who is active,
and then Player 2, who is inactive, is elected to the office. If we use Judge
ais523's second interpretation ("an event occurs before which an office was
held by an active player and after which that office was not held by an active
player"), then the third paragraph of Rule 2276 states that Registrar is
flipped to Assumed, while the fourth paragraph simultaneously states that
Registrar is flipped to Postulated. Thus, under this interpretation, Rule 2276
contradicts itself, and by Rule 2240, the fourth paragraph takes precedence.
I agree with Judge ais523's argument that we should pick the meaning where the
rule does not contradict itself, and besides, I think this is a more natural
reading of the rule. Thus, the correct interpretation is the "an officer
ceases to be an active player" interpretation. I judge TRUE.
I see two potentially significant consequences of this. The first is that it
is possible for a vacant office to be Postulated. Currently, this don't have
much real effect, because the rules always treat Postulated vacant offices the
same way as Assumed vacant offices (except in the case discussed in CFJ 3304,
below). The second is that an inactive player can be a Postulated
office-holder if e is elected to that office while inactive.