Index ← 3289 CFJ 3290 3291 → text
==============================  CFJ 3290  ==============================

    there exists a Slave Golem that is a unit.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 Machiavelli

Judge:                                  Murphy
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by Machiavelli:                  16 Jan 2013 22:16:09 GMT
Assigned to Murphy:                     22 Jan 2013 16:07:25 GMT
Judged FALSE by Murphy:                 22 Jan 2013 16:44:15 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

it is reasonably clear that the word "marine" in the rule
"Belligerence" is not intended to mean the same thing as the word
"marine" in Rule 2376. It is, in fact, perfectly reasonable for a
single word to have two different meanings; the word "may", for
example, sometimes means CAN and sometimes means MAY (and sometimes
means the month of May, but apparently not anywhere in the rules
themselves). In addition, the rule "Belligerence" states that the
recordkeepor of marines that are units is the Mongor, whereas other
rules state that the recordkeepor of Marines that are golems is the
Golemkeepor. A single asset cannot have multiple recordkeepors, so
presumably, no entity can be both a unit and a golem.

========================================================================

Caller's Evidence:

I create a Slave Golem in my possession whose name is Ted.

========================================================================

Judge Murphy's Arguments:

Intent aside, Rule 2376 and the rule "Belligerence" both attempt to
explicitly define "marines", bringing "Belligerence" into conflict
with 2376 and other rules.  (Capitalization is insufficient to
distinguish them; the capitalization of MMI terms only matters
because Rule 2152 explicitly says so.)

"Belligerence" clearly loses to 2360 on Power.  In the interest of
avoiding ambiguity and preserving game custom and intent, I interpret
"lower" in Rule 1030 as a reasonably obvious gloss for "lowest", so it
loses to 2376 as well.

"Belligerence" fails to effectively define "marines".  FALSE.

========================================================================

Judge Murphy's Evidence:

Rule 1586/8 (Power=2), excerpt
Definition and Continuity of Entities

      If multiple rules attempt to define an entity with the same
      name, then they refer to the same entity.

Rule 2166/17 (Power=2), excerpts
Assets

      An asset is an entity defined as such by a rule or contest
      (hereafter its backing document), and existing solely because
      its backing document defines its existence.

      The recordkeepor of a class of assets is the entity (if any)
      defined as such by, and bound by, its backing document.

Rule 2360/1 (Power=2), excerpt
Golems

      Golems are a class of second-class persons and a class of
      assets. Golemkeepor is an elected Office. The Golemkeepor is the
      recordkeepor for Golems.

Rule 2376/1 (Power=1), excerpt
Props

      Entities with less than 9 props are Marines.

Rule "Belligerence" (Power=1), excerpts

      The Mongor is an office.

      A unit is a type of asset whose recordkeepor is the Mongor.

      Marines are a type of unit.

========================================================================