============================== CFJ 2829 ==============================
comex has a Leadership Token.
Called by omd: 12 Aug 2010 18:19:46 GMT
Assigned to Murphy: 13 Aug 2010 08:54:30 GMT
Judged FALSE by Murphy: 13 Aug 2010 09:22:42 GMT
Does disappearing count as being destroyed? If not, what is the
If it matters, the Shuttle reached the second wormhole while it was
impossible to destroy it (see previous CFJs). The rules were then
amended to allow it to be destroyed.
An object's position must be
between 0 and the position of the second wormhole. Any object
that finds itself outside of this area or on a wormhole is
warped and disappears.
If the Shuttle reaches the end of the journey and is warped,
each player aboard the Shuttle is rewarded a farad. If the
Shuttle is destroyed, the Enemy is rewarded a Leadership Token
and can only initiate the next journey with three support
(anyone else still only needs notice).
Judge Murphy's Arguments:
There are three possible interpretations, all leaning the same way:
1) A warped object ceases to be In Space (perhaps it becomes
In Hyperspace). As this is backed by Rule 2297, it takes
precedence over Rule 2298's claim that the shuttle (if any)
is In Space, though it may only have effect for a moment
(after which Rule 2298 forces it to re-appear at position 1).
2) A warped object ceases to have a position. This would cause
Rule 2297 to contradict itself, so by Rule 2240 the later clause
(in this case the result of warping) would take precedence,
though it may only have effect for a moment (after which etc.).
3) A warped object ceases to exist, but "destroyed" is a subset of
ceasing-to-exist that depends on the rules specifying destruction
rather than e.g. disappearance.