Index ← 2477 CFJ 2478 2479 → text
==============================  CFJ 2478  ==============================

    The Herald CAN award comex a second instance of Champion.

========================================================================

Caller:                                 ais523

Judge:                                  Wooble
Judgement:                              FALSE

========================================================================

History:

Called by ais523:                       28 Apr 2009 17:24:07 GMT
Assigned to Wooble:                     30 Apr 2009 07:06:44 GMT
Judged FALSE by Wooble:                 30 Apr 2009 12:31:04 GMT

========================================================================

Caller's Arguments:

On Tue, 2009-04-28 at 11:17 -0600, Ian Kelly wrote:
> Per CFJ 2450, I award 96+96i points to comex.

Disclaimer: This message is an attempt to construct a paradox. Nothing
here is definitely false; but it may be confusing.

The following sentence is a Win Announcement, and this sentence serves
to clearly label it as one.

This sentence is false, and comex has a score x+yi such that xy >= 2500.

========================================================================

Gratuitous Arguments by ais523:

Tiger:
> Wouldn't that just mean that the sentence as a whole is false, but the
> first part of it is true? "comex is a player, and he is the Anarchist"
> is false even if one part is true. There should be a way to actually
> make a paradox out of it, but not with "and" since it means that the
> entire sentence has to be true. I think.

Yes, except that comex clearly does have such a score. The fact that e
does makes it a paradox. It's also of the form required for a win
announcement, it contains the required information /and/ also other
extraneous information. So it's a win iff my statement is correct; given
that the second part is correct, it depends on the truth of the first
part, which is (given the existence of comex's winning score) an
Epimenides paradox.

The paradox win attempt here works by finding a part of the game, other
than CFJs (which have been strongly paradox-proofed over the years),
where the truth of a statement makes a difference to the gamestate.

========================================================================

Gratuitous Arguments by root:

Trivially FALSE.  comex has a rest, which is a Losing Condition.

But I don't think you would get a paradox out of this anyway; it would
simply not be a Win Announcement, due to not being true.

========================================================================

Judge Wooble's Arguments:

I judge FALSE.  comex owned 1 Rest at the time the CFJ was called, so
whether e satisfied a winning condition at the time is irrelevant to
the truth of the statement.

========================================================================