Index ← 1522 CFJ 1523 1524 → text
==============================  CFJ 1523  ==============================

    If It's A Surprise is played when the hand size is above the
    maximum, the play wholly fails.


Caller:                                 G.
Barred:                                 Kolja

Judge:                                  root
Judgement:                              TRUE



Called by G.:                           26 Oct 2004 16:34:38 GMT
Assigned to root:                       06 Nov 2004 18:49:09 GMT
Judged TRUE by root:                    10 Nov 2004 02:30:52 GMT


Caller's Arguments:

If #1 is true, it seems at first glance that a play of
It's a surprise would fail if the player's hand size is
above maximum, as a failed exploit results in the card not
being played (CFJ 1510).

However, he phrasing of the It's a Surprise Exploit:
       Exploit: You may Draw two Cards without paying a Fee.
does not automatically constitute drawing cards.

This card simply confers the right ("you may draw") to draw two
cards without fee, but the draws can occur later, for example
when hand size is below maximum again.


Judge root's Arguments:

To find the timing requirements for Card Plays, let us fall back on
R2069 (Card Definitions).  R2069(II)(d) reads:

      (d) An Exploit is an action that the Holder of that Card (and
          only the Holder of that Card) may take if and only if e
          meets the requirements and/or pays the costs outlined in
          that Exploit. Any reference to "you," "your" or a similar
          pronoun in the text of an Exploit refers to the Holder of
          that Card. Taking an action described in an Exploit is known
          as Playing the Card. Unless a Rule says otherwise, a Card is
          automatically transferred to The Deck immediately after
          being Played.

>From this definition, it seems clear to me that the Exploit described by
the card in this case is the act itself of drawing two cards without
payment of a fee, and not some abstract action of "activating" the card.
Also from this definition we see that Playing the Card involves actually
performing the described action, i.e. drawing two cards without payment
of the usual fee.  Therefore, until the two cards have been drawn, the
It's a Surprise card has not been played.

As a result, the antecedent of the implication in the statement is always
false; It's a Surprise may not be played when the owner's hand size is
above the maximum.  The truth table for implication therefore tells us
that in all situations the statement is TRUE (and it would also be TRUE
if it instead read "If It's A Surprise is played when the hand size is
above the maximum, the play succeeds.")