Index ← 1510 CFJ 1511 1512 → text
==============================  CFJ 1511  ==============================

    Proposal 4588 is Democratic.


Caller:                                 G.
Barred:                                 Riail

Judge:                                  Michael

Judge:                                  Pakaran

Judge:                                  OscarMeyr
Judgement:                              FALSE



Called by G.:                           25 Jun 2004 16:53:56 GMT
Assigned to Michael:                    26 Jun 2004 08:05:03 GMT
Michael recused:                        10 Jul 2004 08:05:03 GMT
Assigned to Pakaran:                    11 Jul 2004 08:24:44 GMT
Pakaran recused:                        25 Jul 2004 08:24:44 GMT
Assigned to OscarMeyr:                  25 Jul 2004 09:05:26 GMT
Judged FALSE by OscarMeyr:              01 Aug 2004 15:39:40 GMT


Caller's Arguments:

CFJ 1 is about the power of Debate-o-matic cards to change Chambers.


Caller's Evidence:

>From Rule 1933:
      "The Chamber of a Proposal may only be changed as
      specified by an instrument with Power greater than or equal to
      two (2)."

>From Rule 2067 (Power=1)
      * Caption: Debate-o-Matic
        Elements: Budgeted
        Exploit: Change the Chamber of any one non-Sane Proposal to
          the Chamber of your choice, provided it is legal for that
          Proposal to be in the named Chamber.

>From Rule 2069:
      (d) An Exploit is an action that the Holder of that Card (and
          only the Holder of that Card) may take if and only if e
          meets the requirements and/or pays the costs outlined in
          that Exploit. Any reference to "you," "your" or a similar
          pronoun in the text of an Exploit refers to the Holder of
          that Card. Taking an action described in an Exploit is known
          as Playing the Card. Unless a Rule says otherwise, a Card is
          automatically transferred to The Deck immediately after
          being Played.


Judge OscarMeyr's Arguments:

1511:  FALSE.  The Debate-o-matic Card is the instrument being used to
change the Proposal's chamber.  All Cards presently have a Power of
zero, and changing a Proposal's chamber requires Power of 2 or higher.
Accordingly, the Proposal in question was not successfully Debated into
a new chamber.  Ev:  R2070 (Card Powerz), noting that Power (in the
Agoran sense) is not part of a Card; R1688 (Power defined); also R1933
as quoted in the Caller's Evidence.


Judge OscarMeyr's Evidence:

Rule 2070/0 (Power=1)
Card Powerz

      The following Elements for Cards are defined:

      * Budgeted: The Quota for this Card is determined in the
        Deckmastor's budget. If the budget is undefined, or does not
        set the Quota for this Card, then the Quota shall be 3.

      * Handed [X], where X is a non-negative integer: When
        calculating Hand Size, this Card counts as X Cards.

      * Restricted [X], where X is a type of entity: Only entities
        considered to be an X may Activate any Exploit possessed by
        the Card.

      * Limited [X] [Y], where X is a type of entity and Y is a
        positive integer: For an entity not considered to be an X to
        Activate any Exploit possessed by the Card requires em to pay
        a Fee of Y.

      * Persistent: Playing this Card does not result in its being
        transferred to The Deck.

      * Bleed [X], where X is a non-negative integer: At the beginning
        of each week, the Holder of this card loses X Points.

Rule 1688/1 (Power=3)

      Power is an Index.  An Instrument is an entity with nonzero
      Power.  The Power of a given entity is zero unless otherwise
      defined by the Rules.