============================== CFJ 1511 ==============================
Proposal 4588 is Democratic.
Called by G.: 25 Jun 2004 16:53:56 GMT
Assigned to Michael: 26 Jun 2004 08:05:03 GMT
Michael recused: 10 Jul 2004 08:05:03 GMT
Assigned to Pakaran: 11 Jul 2004 08:24:44 GMT
Pakaran recused: 25 Jul 2004 08:24:44 GMT
Assigned to OscarMeyr: 25 Jul 2004 09:05:26 GMT
Judged FALSE by OscarMeyr: 01 Aug 2004 15:39:40 GMT
CFJ 1 is about the power of Debate-o-matic cards to change Chambers.
>From Rule 1933:
"The Chamber of a Proposal may only be changed as
specified by an instrument with Power greater than or equal to
>From Rule 2067 (Power=1)
* Caption: Debate-o-Matic
Exploit: Change the Chamber of any one non-Sane Proposal to
the Chamber of your choice, provided it is legal for that
Proposal to be in the named Chamber.
>From Rule 2069:
(d) An Exploit is an action that the Holder of that Card (and
only the Holder of that Card) may take if and only if e
meets the requirements and/or pays the costs outlined in
that Exploit. Any reference to "you," "your" or a similar
pronoun in the text of an Exploit refers to the Holder of
that Card. Taking an action described in an Exploit is known
as Playing the Card. Unless a Rule says otherwise, a Card is
automatically transferred to The Deck immediately after
Judge OscarMeyr's Arguments:
1511: FALSE. The Debate-o-matic Card is the instrument being used to
change the Proposal's chamber. All Cards presently have a Power of
zero, and changing a Proposal's chamber requires Power of 2 or higher.
Accordingly, the Proposal in question was not successfully Debated into
a new chamber. Ev: R2070 (Card Powerz), noting that Power (in the
Agoran sense) is not part of a Card; R1688 (Power defined); also R1933
as quoted in the Caller's Evidence.
Judge OscarMeyr's Evidence:
Rule 2070/0 (Power=1)
The following Elements for Cards are defined:
* Budgeted: The Quota for this Card is determined in the
Deckmastor's budget. If the budget is undefined, or does not
set the Quota for this Card, then the Quota shall be 3.
* Handed [X], where X is a non-negative integer: When
calculating Hand Size, this Card counts as X Cards.
* Restricted [X], where X is a type of entity: Only entities
considered to be an X may Activate any Exploit possessed by
* Limited [X] [Y], where X is a type of entity and Y is a
positive integer: For an entity not considered to be an X to
Activate any Exploit possessed by the Card requires em to pay
a Fee of Y.
* Persistent: Playing this Card does not result in its being
transferred to The Deck.
* Bleed [X], where X is a non-negative integer: At the beginning
of each week, the Holder of this card loses X Points.
Rule 1688/1 (Power=3)
Power is an Index. An Instrument is an entity with nonzero
Power. The Power of a given entity is zero unless otherwise
defined by the Rules.