Index ← 1505 CFJ 1506 1507 → text
==============================  CFJ 1506  ==============================

    The Deckmastor is not empowered to post messages on behalf of the


Caller:                                 root
Barred:                                 G.
Barred:                                 Wes
Barred:                                 Sir Toby

Judge:                                  t

Judge:                                  Sherlock

Judge:                                  Murphy
Judgement:                              TRUE



Called by root:                         18 May 2004 23:22:26 GMT
Assigned to t:                          22 May 2004 18:18:16 GMT
t recused:                              31 May 2004 20:33:03 GMT
Assigned to Sherlock:                   31 May 2004 20:40:04 GMT
Sherlock recused:                       14 Jun 2004 20:40:04 GMT
Assigned to Murphy:                     15 Jun 2004 07:30:17 GMT
Judged TRUE by Murphy:                  20 Jun 2004 21:40:29 GMT


Caller's Arguments:

The (as yet unnumbered) rule titled "The Deckmastor" specifies
that the Deckmastor "may take no action on behalf of the Deck except as
explicitly permitted by the Rules."  Nowhere do the Rules permit the
Deckmastor to post on behalf of the Deck.  In addition, Blob's judgement
in CFJ 1303 supplies judicial precedent to the effect that the executor
of an entity cannot post on behalf of that entity.


Caller's Evidence:

1) "The Deckmastor" Rule:

      The Deckmastor is an office which acts as the recordkeepor for
      Cards. The Deckmastor's Weekly Report shall contain a record of
      all Cards in existence and what entity possesses each Card.

      The Deckmastor shall have a budget containing the Maximum Hand
      Size, which is a positive integer between 3 and 10. In the
      absence of a budget, the Maximum Hand Size shall be 5.

      The Deck is a Gambler. The Deckmastor shall be the sole Executor
      of The Deck, but may take no action on behalf of The Deck except
      as explicitly permitted by the Rules. The Deck may not transfer
      Cards to any other entity except as explicitly required by the

      Only the Deckmastor may create or destroy Cards, and e may do
      if and only if the Rules require it by announcing the Card being
      created or destroyed and the entity who either possesses it now
      or possessed it at the time of destruction as appropriate.

2) Blob's judgement in CFJ 1303, available at


Judge Murphy's Arguments:

When a player draws a card, the Deckmastor is required (and thus
permitted) to transfer and announce on behalf of the Deck.  However,
no such requirement existed at the time of this CFJ.  Nothing else
requires (and thus permits) the Deckmastor to announce on behalf of
the Deck.  I judge CFJ 1506 to be TRUE.


Judge Murphy's Evidence:

Rule 2069/0 (Power=1)
Card Definitions

      III. Actions

      (a) Unless restricted from doing so by the rules, any Gambler
          possessing a Card may transfer that Card to any other
          Gambler by announcing which Card is to be transferred and
          the Gambler it shall be transferred to. All such transfers
          take place at the time they are announced.

      (b) Drawing a Card and Drawing from The Deck are synonymous.

          When a Gambler Draws a Card, the Deckmastor shall be
          required to randomly select one Card from among those
          currently in The Deck's Hand and transfer it to that Gambler
          as soon as possible. Until this transfer takes place, that
          Gambler is said to have one Pending Draw for each such
          transfer the Deckmastor is required to make, but has not yet