Index ← 1504 CFJ 1505 1506 → text
==============================  CFJ 1505  ==============================

    root successfully played the Hot Potato card on Sunday, May 16 2004.


Caller:                                 root
Barred:                                 G.
Barred:                                 Wes
Barred:                                 Sir Toby

Judge:                                  t

Judge:                                  Sherlock

Judge:                                  Murphy
Judgement:                              TRUE



Called by root:                         18 May 2004 23:22:26 GMT
Assigned to t:                          22 May 2004 18:18:16 GMT
t recused:                              31 May 2004 20:33:03 GMT
Assigned to Sherlock:                   31 May 2004 20:40:04 GMT
Sherlock recused:                       14 Jun 2004 20:40:04 GMT
Assigned to Murphy:                     15 Jun 2004 07:30:17 GMT
Judged TRUE by Murphy:                  20 Jun 2004 21:40:29 GMT


Caller's Arguments:

root transferred the card to the Deck but did not specify
whether e did so as a normal transfer or whether the intent was to
activate the exploit.  It may be that such specification was
unnecessary and the exploit was activated anyway.


Caller's Evidence:

1) Hot Potato Card Description:

      * Caption: Hot Potato
        Quota: 1
        Elements: Persistent
        Exploit: Transfer this Card to another entity. If that entity
          does not post to a Public Forum the phrase "Hot Potato" with
          48 hours, they are guilty of the Class 1 Infraction of
          Dropping the Potato which you are authorized to Report.

2) Copy of the message in which root transfered the Hot Potato card:

    * From: Ian Kelly (view other messages by this author)
    * Date: Sun, 16 May 2004 14:29:36

I transfer my Albatross Flies Away card to Murphy.
I transfer my Boost-o-Matic card to RedKnight.
I transfer my Hot Potato card to the Deck.



Judge Murphy's Evidence:

Rule 2069/0 (Power=1)
Card Definitions

      II. Definitions

      (d) An Exploit is an action that the Holder of that Card (and
          only the Holder of that Card) may take if and only if e
          meets the requirements and/or pays the costs outlined in
          that Exploit. Any reference to "you," "your" or a similar
          pronoun in the text of an Exploit refers to the Holder of
          that Card. Taking an action described in an Exploit is known
          as Playing the Card. Unless a Rule says otherwise, a Card is
          automatically transferred to The Deck immediately after
          being Played.


Judge Murphy's Arguments:

Playing a card is defined as taking an action described in an Exploit
of that card.  No rule restricts this to cases in which the actor
intends to activate an Exploit, or explicitly states that e activates
an Exploit.  I judge CFJ 1505 to be TRUE.