Index ← 1163 CFJ 1164 1165 → text
From: Wes Contreras 
To: agora-off 
Subject: OFF: CFJ 1164 Judged FALSE
Date: Saturday, September 04, 1999 4:03 PM

                              CFJ 1164

    Peekee's ABC was neither changed or set on 1999/08/29.


Called by:           Peekee

Judge:               Lee
Judgement:           FALSE

Judge selection:

Eligible:            Lee, Michael, Murphy, Palnatoke, Wes

Not eligible:
Caller:              Peekee
Barred:              -
Had their turn:      Annabel, Beefurabi, Blob, Chuck, Crito, Elysion,
                     harvel, Kolja
Already served:      -
Defaulted:           -
By request:          -
On Hold:             elJefe, Oerjan, Steve



Called by Peekee:                     31 Aug 1999 13:26:56 EDT
Assigned to Lee:                      31 Aug 1999 13:24:12 -0700
Judged FALSE by Lee:                  04 Sep 1999 14:10:36 -0500
Judgement Distributed:                As of this message


Caller's Arguments:

I do not think that my ABC was set or changed on that date.

I could not of "changed" my ABC as I had no previous ABC before that
date. My ABC was not set on that date (as there is no rule that
defines how an ABC is set.) Further more, my current status in
respect to my ABC can in no way be considered "set" and it has never
been "set".  Such associations can not ever be considered to be
set, and it is in the best interests of the game that such
associations are not considered to be set.


Evidence attached by the Caller:


Judge's Arguments:

The revelant rule here is:

Rule 1911/0 (Power=1) Basic Currencies

      A Currency is a Basic Currency only if defined as such by the

      Each Player has at most one Associated Basic Currency (ABC).
      Initially, Players have no ABC. A Player who has no ABC may
      associate a Basic Currency with emself by declaring that e does
      so, and stating which Basic Currency is so associated, in the
      Public Forum. A Player who has an ABC may change eir ABC by the
      same method, but only if: a) it has been at least 3 months since
      eir ABC was last set or changed, OR b) if the Currency which is
      to be eir new ABC became a Basic Currency more recently than eir
      ABC was last set or changed.

      A Player with an ABC may never cease to have any ABC at all,
      unless e ceases to be a Player, or eir ABC ceases to be a Basic

Peekee sent the following message on the day in question:

     I hereby declare that, I hereby associate -VTs as my ABC.

     [Please note, I do not believe that this in anyway causes my
     ABC to be "set" as described in the Rule "Basic Currencies"
     and so I should still be free to change the ABC that I am
     associated with.]

     I hereby convert 100 stems to -VTs (My ABC) and make the
     transfers to the bank to make this happen.


Clearly he associated -VTs  as his ABC, but was his ABC set?
The question arises because the word set and the word associate
are used for similar actions, but similar is not identical and
that leaves room for argument. I think that the Rule could have
been phrased better.

The most prominent use of the word set in the Ruleset is in the
phrase "as set in the last Treasuror's budget." Oddly enough the
word set is not used in Rule 1893/1 (Power=1) The Treasuror's
budget. Since this usage is seen as clear in the case of the
Treasuror's Budget rules, i think according to both Game Custom
and normal English usage it is clear that Peekee did indeed set
his ABC in the message on 1999/08/29.  I judge this statement

Note: The normal usage is Neither  . . . nor.  The statement
"Peekee's ABC was neither changed or set on 1999/08/29." set my
teeth on edge.