Index ← 1105 CFJ 1106 1107 → text
======================================================================
                               CFJ 1106

  In calculating the success of the Revolt of 3 Sep 1998, Swann should
  be counted as only one player for the purposes of determining the
  total number of players.

======================================================================

Judge:        Blob

Judgement:    FALSE

Eligible:     Antimatter, Blob, Chuck, Crito, General Chaos,
              Harlequin, Kolja A., Macross, Michael, Morendil, Murphy,
              Proglet, Steve

Not eligible:
Caller:       Lee
Barred:       -
Disqualified: -
On hold:      elJefe, Oerjan, Swann

======================================================================

History:
  Called by Lee, Thu, 3 Sep 1998 23:40:41 -0500
  Assigned to Blob, Tue, 8 Sep 1998 10:50:49 +0100
  Judged FALSE, Wed, 9 Sep 1998 13:32:45 +1000
  Published, Wed, 9 Sep 1998 09:19:59 +0100

======================================================================

Judgement: FALSE

Reasons and arguments:

The caller stated that:
>
> The rule Rule 1837/0 (Power=1) does not mention a Revolt, just a
> rebellion.

Which is true, but irrelevant, because 1837 was amended on Aug 3 1998
to read:

Rule 1837/1 (Power=1)
The Miscreant

      Let there exist the Patent Title of "Miscreant".

      If any Player has more than ten Blots, the Player with the most
      Blots earns the Title of Miscreant.  If no Player has the most
      number of Blots, there is no Miscreant.  The Miscreant loses
      eir Title of Miscreant if eir number of Blots drops below ten,
      if another Player gains as many Blots as em, or if another
      Player gains more Blots than em.

      The Herald shall announce in the Public Forum whenever a Player
      receives or loses this Title, as soon as possible after such
      award or revocation occurs.

      A Player with the Title Miscreant counts as two Rebellious
      Players when determining the outcome of a Revolt. This rule
      takes precedence over any other rule determining the outcome
      of a Revolt.

The rule now explicitly mentions "the outcome of a Revolt", and has
the necessary precedence clause to change the method described in
1664.

The question still stands as to whether the Miscreant is counted twice
when determining "the number of Players at the time of the Call for
Revolt", required by R1664. Does counting the Miscreant as "two
Rebellious Players", mean counting em as two players for the total?

In the absence of any other ruling discovered by this judge, either in
the ruleset or in the history of past judgements, the decision comes
down to one of common sense. It seems to me, necessary that being
counted as two Rebellious Players, also implies being counted as two
Players. R1664 makes it clear that both the selection of the random
integer, and the comparison to the number of Rebellious Player are
part of determining the outcome of the Revolt, so the last paragraph
of R1837 affects them both. Swann, as the Miscreant, was therefore
correctly counted twice, both for the number of Players and the number
of Rebellious Players at the time of the Revolt.

======================================================================

(Caller's) Arguments:

The rule Rule 1837/0 (Power=1) does not mention a Revolt, just a
rebellion. Rule 1664/6 (Power=1)does not mention a Miscreant, but does
include a clear way to calculate the success of a revolt.

Evidence:

Rebellion

      Any Player is either Abiding or Rebellious. A new Player is
      always Abiding when e becomes a player. A Player can switch from
      Abiding to Rebellious or from Rebellious to Abiding by sending a
      message to the Public Forum saying e does change so. The
      Registrar shall maintain a list of all Players that are
      Rebellious. This list is known as the Red Pages, and is part of
      the Registrar's Report.

      A Player may Call for a Revolt at any time, by sending to the
      Public Forum saying e does so. A Call for Revolt is only
      effective if the following conditions are met:

         i) The player posting the Call is Rebellious,
        ii) No other effective Call for Revolt has been made that
            week,
       iii) A successful Revolt has not occurred for a month or more.

      As soon as possible after an effective Call for Revolt has been
      posted, the Registrar must determine whether the Revolt
      succeeds, as outlined below, and post the result to the Public
      Forum.

      The result of a Revolt is determined as follows: The Registrar
      selects a random integer from 1 to the number of Players at the
      time of the Call for Revolt. If this number is less than or
      equal to the number of Rebellious Players at the time of the
      Call for Revolt, then the Revolt succeeds, otherwise it fails.

      If a Revolt succeeds, then the following events occur (in
      order):

         - The Registrar shall vacate all Blots of each Rebellious
           Player.
         - The Registrar shall pay out 2 VT to each Rebellious
           Player.

         - A Speaker Transition occurs
         - All Players that hold one or more Offices in the normal
           fashion cease to hold those in a normal fashion and hold
           them temporarily instead.
         - All Rebellious Players become Abiding again

      If a Revolt does not succeed, then:

         - All Rebellious Players gain 2 Blots.
         - The Player who Called for Revolt gains 2 (additional) Blots

      The Registrar shall execute all Payment Orders required by this
      rule.

      The Registrar is authorised to vacate any payment orders this
      rule requires em to vacate.

Rule 1837/0 (Power=1)
The Miscreant

      Let there exist the Patent Title of "Miscreant".

      If any Player has more than ten Blots, the Player with the most
      Blots earns the Title of Miscreant.  If no Player has the most
      number of Blots, there is no Miscreant t.  The Miscreant loses
      eir Title of Miscreant if eir number of Blots drops below ten,
      if another Player gains as many Blots as em, or if another
      Player gains more Blots than em.

      A Player with the Title Miscreant counts as two Players towards
      the tally needed for Rebellion.  If a Rebellion occurs in which
      the Miscreant was a Rebel, the Title of Miscreant is revoked
      from the Miscreant.

======================================================================