From left: Yunshan Fan, Chris Gunderson, Zhuoyu Peng, Rui Hao, Chu Han, Peter Defnet, Fan Zhang, Sam Barlow, Bo Zhang, and Todd Anderson

Our research is focused on the development and use of optical and electron microscopy methods to study chemical reactions at electrochemical interfaces. Our group has developed fluorescence-enabled electrochemical microscopy (FEEM) for studying dynamic redox events on massive electrochemical arrays.


Group News

04/02/17 We had Dr. Martin Edwards from U of Utah visiting us for a week. Martin was here to teach us advanced simulation skills and scanning electrochemical microscopy. Many thanks, Martin!!


From left: Yunshan, Peter, Sam, Martin, Bo, and Chu

03/22/17 Another paper on the use of silica nanochannels for vesicle analysis was just accepted for publication in the Journal of Electrochemistry.

03/14/17 Peter, Todd, and Sam have all passed their 2nd year exams, congratulations!


Peter, Todd, and Sam

03/10/17 We are excited to have Zhuoyu Peng joining our group. In her research, she will use electrochemistry and fluorescence microscopy to understand electrochemical behavior of individual nanoparticles and molecules.


03/06/17 Yunshan has been awarded the Graduate Student Travel Award from the Society of Electroanalytical Chemistry (SEAC) to present her research at Pittcon! Congraduations!

Yunshan SEAC

01/30/17 Jin's 2nd paper "Single Molecule Electrochemistry on a Porous Silica-Coated Electrode" has been accepted for publication in the Journal of the American Chemical Society.

01/26/17 Jin's paper "Electrostatic Ion Enrichment in an Ultrathin-Layer Cell with a Critical Dimension between 5 to 20 nm" has been accepted for publication in Analytical Chemistry.

12/11/16 Our paper "Observation of Multipeak Collision Behavior during the Electro-Oxidation of Single Ag Nanoparticles" has been accepted into the Journal of the American Chemical Society! This is a collaborative effort with Professor Henry White's group at University of Utah on an exciting phenomenon of individual Ag nanoparticles.

09/15/16 Steve Oja has successfully defended his thesis. Congratulations, Dr. Oja!!

08/15/16 Jin Lu has left the group to join Dr. Matthew Lew's group at Washington University, St. Louis. We thank Jin for his great contribution to the group.

08/5/16 A few papers have been recently accepted for publication in various journals:

  • Chu's paper on gold nanoparticle films was accepted into Langmuir.
  • Yunshan's review paper on Nanoelectrochemistry was accepted into the Analyst.
  • Rui's paper on single-particle dealloying was accepted into Analytical Chemistry.
  • Steve's paper on single-particle ET kinetics was accepted into J. Phys. Chem. C.


"Imagination is more important than knowledge. For knowledge is limited, whereas imagination embraces the entire world, stimulating progress, giving birth to evolution. It is, strictly speaking, a real factor in scientific research." Albert Einstein