Paul Yager Research Group
Bioengineering Department, Box 355061, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, USA

Current PY Group Personnel

Click for current listings

P.S.: if you should be on one of the lists below and are not, or if your data can be updated, please send me e-mail

Part of the Yager Group, Summer picnic 2008

From left to right: Kristen Helton (w. child), Manda Williams, Sujatha Ramachandran, Rahber Thariani, Lisa Lafleur, Katherine McKenenzie, Peter Kauffman, Lauren Shepherd, Neil Geisler, Barry Lutz, Jennifer Osborn, Maris Lemba, Elain Fu, Paul Yager, Chelsea Musick, Paolo Spicar-Mihalic.

Missing: Melissa Hasenbank, Michael Nash, Kjell Nelson, Dean Stevens, Gayathri Subramanian, Jone Vrhel, et al.


Active Collaborators

The following are colleagues with whom the Yager group is now directly affiliated and collaborating.

Name
Title
Role
e-mail
David Baker, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Biochemistry, Director, Institute of Protein Design, UW Co-investigator on NIH Flu project dabaker@u.washington.edu
Gaetano Borriello, Ph.D. Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering, UW Collaborator on development of quantitative chemical imaging and data processing using cellular phones and Co-investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project gaetano@cs.washington.edu

Gonzalo Domingo, Ph.D.

PATH, Seattle, WA

Co-investigator on NIH Flu project

gdomingo@path.org

Janet A. Englund, M.D. Professor of Pediatric Infectious Diseases, Seattle Children's Co-investigator on NIH Flu and DARPA MAD NAAT projects janet.englund@seattlechildrens.org
Ferric Fang, Ph.D. Professor, Laboratory Medicine, UW Co-investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project fcfang@u.washington.edu
Elain Fu, Ph.D. Research Assistant Professor in Bioengineering, UW Close collaborator on all microfluidics research, Co-investigator on NIH Flu and DARPA MAD NAAT projects efu@u.washington.edu
Barry Lutz, Ph.D. Research Assistant Professor in Bioengineering, UW Close collaborator on all microfluidics research, Co-investigator on NIH Flu and DARPA MAD NAAT projects blutz@u.washington.edu
Walter Mahoney, Ph.D. Senior Vice President, Epoch Biosciences, (Elitech Group), Bothell, WA Co-investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project wmahoneyh@epochbio.com
David Moore, Ph.D. Laboratory Manager, Membrane and Separation Science, GE Global Research Center, Niskayuna, NY Co-investigator on NIH Flu and DARPA MAD NAAT projects moored@research.ge.com

Patrick Stayton, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Bioengineering, UW

PI on Smart Polymers NIH grant

stayton@u.washington.edu

Bernhard Weigl, Ph.D. PATH, Seattle, WA Co-investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project bweigl@path.org


Current Postdoctoral Fellows

Name
Role
e-mail
Joshua Bishop, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project jdbishop@uw.edu
Erin Heiniger, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project erinkh@uw.edu
Paula Ladd, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project pladd@u.washington.edu
Lisa Lafleur, Ph.D. Project Manager on DARPA MAD NAAT project llafleur@u.washington.edu
Melissa Li, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project melli@uw.edu
Srinath Rangarajan, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project rsrinath@u.washington.edu
Bhushan Toley, Ph.D. Investigator on DARPA MAD NAAT project btoley@u.washington.edu
Manda Williams, Ph.D. Consultant on DARPA MAD NAAT project mandysw@gmail.com


Current Graduate Students

The following are graduates students currently pursuing degrees with Yager as their primary advisor. See project listings for additional students affiliated with other professors on joint projects.

Name
Degree Program
Project
e-mail
Estimated (!) Graduation
Koji Abe Ph.D., Bioengineering NIH Flu Project kojiabe@u.washington.edu 2017
Josh Buser Ph.D., Bioengineering DARPA MAD NAAT project buserj@u.washington.edu 2016
Samantha Byrnes Ph.D. Bioengineering DARPA MAD NAAT project sabyrnes@u.washington.edu 2016
David Caldwell MSTP TBD djcald@u.washington.edu TBD
Gina Fridley Ph.D., Bioengineering NIH Flu Project gfridley@u.washington.edu
2014
Carly Holstein Ph.D., Bioengineering NIH Flu Project cholst@u.washington.edu
2014
Caitlin Monahan Ph.D., Bioengineering DARPA MAD NAAT project cmonahan@u.washington.edu 2017


Current Staff

The following are scientific and administrative staff within the Yager group.

Name
Role
Project
Contact Information
Ryan Gallagher Research Scientist DARPA MAD NAAT project gallagrp@gmail.com
Peter Kauffman Research Scientist General technical wizard and senior mentor to all peterck@u.washington.edu

Sujatha Ramachandran Kumar

Research Scientist

Several

sujathar@u.washington.edu

Chelsea Musick PY Assistant and Program Manager All cmusick@u.washington.edu
Maxwell Wheeler Technician DARPA MAD NAAT project

mdw62@nau.edu

Xiaohong Zhang Research Scientist DARPA MAD NAAT project xiaohongster@gmail.com


Current Undergraduate Capstone Students

Note that this group reflects current BioE seniors only, not other undergraduates in the laboratory in paid or volunteer status.
Name
Department
Project
e-mail
Isabela Covelli Bioengineering DARPA MAD NAAT project icovelli@u.washington.edu
Alec Wollen Bioengineering DARPA MAD NAAT project alecw@u.washington.edu


Return to Yager's Home Page

Return to Personnel Page

revised 8/07/13