Paul Yager Research Group
Bioengineering Department, Box 355061, University of Washington, Seattle, WA 98195, USA

PY Group Alumni

Below are listed former graduate student, former postdoctoral fellows, and former undergraduate trainees

P.S.: if you should be on this list and are not, or if your data can be updated, please send me e-mail


Former Graduate Students

The following is a listing of former students who have received degrees while working in my laboratory at UW since 1987.

Name
Degree, Year
Thesis Title
Current Address

Susan B. Abrams

Ph.D., 1994, Bioengineering

Development of an optical fiber fluorescence sensor for general anesthetics based on lipid phase transitions

Williamstown, MA
susan.abrams@williams.edu

Douglas D. Archibald

Ph.D., 1990, Chemistry

Structural studies of high-aspect-ratio self-assembled lipid microstructures with the use of microscopy and FT-NIR-Raman spectroscopy

Department of Crop & Soil Science Department
Penn State University
University Park, PA dda10@psu.edu
http://www.agronomy.psu.edu/people/faculty/archibaldd.html

Gayathri Balasubramanian
M.S.E., 2002, Bioengineering
Development and modeling of low-cost passive flow regulator for laminate-based microfluidic systems gayathri003@gmail.com

David A. Basiji

M.S.E., 1992, Bioengineering

Vowel extraction from electroencephalograms using neural networks

Chief Executive Officer, Amnis Corporation, Seattle, WA
basiji@amnis.com

Catherine R. Cabrera
Ph.D., 2002, Bioengineering
Microfluidic electrochemical flow cells: design, fabrication, and characterization MIT Lincoln Laboratory, cabrera@ll.mit.edu

Kimberly A. Carlson (neé Trabbic)

Ph.D., 1999, Bioengineering

The structure and spinning of fibroin proteins.

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago
ktiggercarlson@yahoo.com

Paul Carlson

Ph.D., 1999, Bioengineering

Study of self-assembling complex high ratio lipid microstructures (CHARMs) for delivery of therapeutic agents

Deceased, 2001; contact Kimberly Carlson

Hugh Chang
M.S.E., 2005, Bioengineering
Development of a confocal detector for spatially distributed fluorescence in microchannels President, Axon Consulting, LLC
hughchang@msn.com
Jennifer O. Foley
Ph.D., 2007, Bioengineering
Design and development of surface plasmon resonance imaging microfluidic assays

Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Bioengineering, University of Pennsylvania
jennofoley@gmail.com

Elena Garcia
Ph.D., 2006, Bioengineering
Reagent storage and transport in microfluidic systems for clinical diagnostic and drug discovery purposes Centocor, San Diego, CA
garciaelena1@gmail.com
Melissa Hasenbank
Ph.D., 2008, Bioengineering
Surface plasmon resonance imaging, and electrochemical amplification of SPR signals

Medtronic Vascular, Bay Area, CA
mhasenbank@gmail.com

Karl Hanson
M.S.E, 2009, Bioengineering
Pulsed Sample Injection Immunoassay: Computational Modeling, Calibration and Sensitivity Analysis

available as of 8/2010
hansonkarl@gmail.com

Anson V. Hatch
Ph.D., 2004. Bioengineering
Diffusion based analysis of molecular binding reactions in microfluidic devices Sandia National Laboratories, Livermore, CA (ahatch@sandia.gov)
Kenneth Hawkins
Ph.D., 2007, Bioengineering
Designing the diffusion immunoassay (DIA) --
how properties of the analyte affect DIA performance
NanoString, Technologies, Inc., Seattle, WA
khawkins@nanostring.com
Kristen M. Lloyd Helton
Ph.D., 2008, Bioengineering
Sample preconditioning of saliva for the measurement of small analytes in a microfluidic biosensor klloyd33@u.washington.edu

Andrew Kamholz

Ph.D., 2001, Bioengineering

Quantitative analysis of diffusion and chemical reaction in pressure-driven microfluidic channels

President, Edge Embossing LLC, Boston, MA
andrew.kamholz@edge-embossing.com

Lisa Lafleur Ph.D., 2010, Electrical Engineering Design of microfluidic devices for low resource settings postdoc, Yager lab, lklafleur@gmail.com
Maris Lemba Ph.D., 2012, Bioengineering Real-time Three-dimensional Microarrays: How Well Can We Distinguish Between Related Target Sequences? TBD
Jason Li
M.S.E., 2006, Bioengineering
Assembly of gene delivery nanoparticles using rapid microfluidic mixing jayli33@gmail.com

Hillary L. MacDonald

M.S.E.E., 1993, Electrical Engineering

The design and investigation of long pathlength sample cells for use in remote Raman spectroscopic chemical sensing

Chair, Women in Optics, SPIE, 2002-2004

Katherine McKenzie
Ph.D., 2010,
Bioengineering
Sample Preparation and IgM Immunoassays for Point-of-Care Diagnostics

Just graduated;
k.g.mckenzie@gmail.com

Sabina Merlo

M.S.E, 1989, Bioengineering

Development of a fluorescence-based fiber optic sensor for detection of general anesthetics

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering,
University of Pavia, Pavia, Italy
merlo@ele.unipv.it

Matthew Munson
Ph.D., 2004,
Bioengineering
Controlling mass transport in microfluidic channels

Postdoctoral Fellow, NIST, Rockville, MD
munson1027@yahoo.com

Catherine Morgan

Ph.D., 1999,
Bioengineering

A microfabricated CO2 sensor

ISSYS, Ypsilanti, MI (new e-mail address soon)
nmmorgans@uswestmail

Jennifer L. Osborn Ph.D., 2011, Bioengineering Development of microfluidic immunoassays PATH, jen.l.osborn@gmail.com

Thor D. Osborn

Ph.D., 1994, Bioengineering

Development of a mass producible lipid bilayer support device

Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM
tdosbor@sandia.gov

Julie Parnell

Ph.D., 1997, Bioengineering

Development of a Raman spectroscopy-based polymeric sensor for general anesthetics

Product Development Specialist, Olympic Medical, Seattle, WA
juliep@olymed.com

Jennifer J. Person

M.S.E., 1990, Bioengineering

Toward the development of an ion channel-based biosensor: addressing the reproducibility of "tip dip" bilayer studies

Beaverton, OR

Eric Schilling

M.S.E.,2001, Bioengineering

Mixing and modeling

Medtronic, Inc., Minneapolis, MN
eric.a.schilling@medtronic.com

Paulo Spicar-Mihalic, Ph.D.

Ph.D., 2010, Chemistry Development of microfluidic immunoassays

Scientist, nanoString Technologies, Inc. Seattle, WA
pspicarmihalic@gmail.com

Xue Shen (David) Wu
Ph.D., 1992, Bioengineering (co-advisor, Allan Hoffman)
Synthesis of hydrogel-liposome composites and their application to controlled release of active agents Long Island, NY
Lauren Shepherd
M.S.E.,2010, Bioengineering
Enhancement of Mixing in a Microfluidic Device Using Acoustic Oscillation

Just graduated;
lbshelby@u.washington.edu

Dean Yasuo Stevens
Ph.D., 2010, Bioengineering
Development and Optical Analysis of a Microfluidic Point-of-Care Diagnostic Device

Just graduated;
deanystevens@mac.com

Rahber Thariani
Ph.D., 2009, Bioengineering
Imaging of surfaces by surface plasmon resonance and surface plasmon resonance-enhanced fluoresence

Pharmaceutical Outcomes Research and Policy Program,
School of Pharmacy, UW
thariani (-at)- gmail -dot- com

Manda Williams

Ph.D., 2013, Bioengineering

Insights of Mixing on the Assembly of DNA Nanoparticles

Postdoctoral work, Yager Laboratory: mandysw@u.washington.edu

Former Postdoctoral Fellows

The following is an incomplete listing of postdoctoral fellows who have been trained in the Yager lab at UW.

Name
Project
Current Contact
Farhan Ahmad, Ph.D. DARPA MAD NAAT project

Senior R&D Scientist-Center for Applied Materials Science, Pall Corporation

Sigma R. Alpha, M.D.

polymerizable surfactant systems

?

Eric Altendorf, Ph.D.

microfluidic flow cytometry

Microencoder, Inc.
erica@microen.com

Mark Blaylock, Ph.D. NIDCR salivary diagnostic project markblaylock@hotmail.com

James P. Brody, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development and theory

UC Irvine, Dept. of Bioengineering
jpbrody@uci.edu

John S. Chappell, Ph.D.

lipid tubule theory and practice

?

Lai-Kwan Chau, Ph.D.

microfluidic analytical chemical devices

National Chung Cheng University, Taiwan
chelkc@ccunix.ccu.edu.tw

Shelli Dennis, Ph.D. DARPA MicroFlumes project, collaboration with A. Folch

js3dennis@aol.com

Thayne Edwards, Ph.D Salivary diagnostic immunoassay development

Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM
tledwar@sandia.gov

Alex Goldstein, Ph.D.

Development of lipid based CHARM drug delivery systems

Syntrix Biosystems,
agoldstein@syntrixbio.com

Mark Holl, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Department of Electrical Engineering, UW,
holl@u.washington.edu

Turgut Fettah Kosar, Ph.D. DxBox Project (Funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation) Harvard University Center for Nanoscale Systems
fkosar@u.washington.edu
Hyun Ho Lee, Ph.D. NASA Development of a DNA-Based Detector Array for Microbial Monitoring of the ISS Water System Department of Chemical Engineering,: Myongji University, Korea
hyunho@mju.ac.kr

Anatolyi Lukyanov, Ph.D.

development of CHARMs for drug delivery

Microplumbers Microsciences LLC
alukyanov@neu.edu

Katerina Macounova, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Heyrovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry, Prague, Czech Republic
macounova@h-inst.cas.cz

Kjell Nelson, Ph.D. Salivary diagnostic technologies

President and CEO, Assay Dynamics,
kjell@assaydynamics.com

Thor D. Osborn, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM
tdosbor@sandia.gov

Dong Qin, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Associate Professor, Chemistry and Materials Science Departments, Georgia Tech,
dong.qin@mse.gatech.ed

Paulo Spicar-Mihalic, Ph.D. microfluidic device development Scientist, nanoString Technologies, Inc. Seattle, WA
pspicarmihalic@gmail.com

Bernhard H. Weigl, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Program for Appropriate Technologies in Health, Seattle, WA
bweigl@path.org

CaiCai Wu, Ph.D.

microfluidic device development

Pacific Biometrics, Inc., Seattle, WA
caicaiwu@hotmail.com

Former Undergraduate Trainees

This is a new category based on the recent development of a full Bioengineering undergraduate program in our department. The following students worked on their Senior Capstone Projects in the Yager Lab.

Name
Project
Current Contact
Luke Allpress Dry storage and rehydration of immunoassay amplification reagents

lallpres@u.washington.edu

Steven Asplund Microfluidic valve and pump design asplund@gmail.com
Richard Baldwin Microfluidic device design and fabrication

UW School of Dentistry
rrb77@u.washington.edu

Devon Cole Development of paper microfluidic nucleic amplifiation assays

University of Ohio, medical student
djc52@u.washington.edu

Fareed Faghih Heater for isothermal amplification of nucleic acids http://www.linkedin.com/pub/fareed-faghih/25/547/942
Benedict Yuen-Fui Hui Salivary Diagnostics

Univeristy of Wisconsin School of Medicine, Milwaukee
benedicthui@gmail.com

George Kimpel Measurement of capillay pressure and resistance of porous materials kimpelg@u.washington.edu

Huy Quang Le

Controlled spatial and temporal release of dried regents in paper  
Michael Look Gates DxBox Project Yale University Department of Biomedical Engineering
lookmichael@hotmail.com
Afshin Mashadi-Hossein Gates DxBox Project NanoString Technologies, Inc.
afshin86@yahoo.com
Austin Palmer Heater for isothermal amplification of nucleic acids Converged Devices
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/austin-palmer/25/548/944
Amanda Patterson Salivary Diagnostics

UW School of Dentistry
patterson.ab@gmail.com

Phillip A. Poonka Measurement of flow in paper microfluidic devices

UC San Diego Department of Bioengineering
ppoonka@ucsd.edu

Mark Steedman

Diffusion Immunoassay

UC Berkeley Department of Bioengineering
steedman@u.washington.edu

Karman Tandon, M.D.

Gates DxBox Project

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health
ktandon@u.washington.edu

Kristen Trett Gates DxBox Project Seattle Children's Research Institute
http://www.linkedin.com/pub/kristen-trett/21/b27/258
Philip Trinh Low-cost inkjet printing  
Sugandhan Venkatachalam Development of kinetics software for bioassays on cell phones  

Joshua Weinstein

Measurement of temperature on SPR imaging surfaces

 

Archival Photos

Yager Group, Spring, 2002. From left to right: Jennifer Foley, Kenneth Hawkins, Hugh Chang, Catherine Cabrera, Anson Hatch, Paul Yager, Jennifer Glasco, Matt Munson, Elena Garcia, Elain Fu, Jason Li, Ellen Rowland, Rahber Thariani

 


Return to Yager's Home Page

Return to Yager Group Personnel

revised 7/16/13