PHIL 338:  Philosophy of Human Rights

[Items that are not underlined are not yet available.]

COURSE DESCRIPTION

SYLLABUS

READING ASSIGNMENTS

        The following reading assignment is in both the optional Talbott text and the optional Volume 2 of the course reader.  In addition, it is available on Electronic Reserve.  Click on it to link to Electronic Reserve:

        Chapters 1-2 of Talbott's "Which Rights Should Be Universal?" (the first reading assignment for the course).

 

MIDTERM REVIEW QUESTIONS

FINAL EXAM REVIEW QUESTIONS

 

HOMEWORK ASSIGNMENTS

Homework Assignment #1.  Due in class on Wednesday June 20.

Homework Assignment #2.  Due in class on Friday June 22.

Homework Assignment #3 to be posted on the PHIL 338 GoPost site by midnight on Monday June 25.  Click on the link below to access the GoPost site:  https://catalyst.uw.edu/gopost/board/wtalbott/28424/

Homework Assignment #4.  Due in class on Monday July 9.

FINAL PROJECT INSTRUCTIONS

Final Project Checklist

FINAL PROJECT DEADLINES:

        (1) Topic approved by end of class on Friday, July 6.

        (2) Introduction to final project posted on PHIL 338 GoPost site by midnight on Tuesday July 10.  Click here for a link to the PHIL 338 GoPost site.

        (3) Send me your vote for best introduction by email by noon on Wednesday July 11.

        (4) Final project posted to the PHIL 338 electronic dropbox by midnight on Monday July 16.  Click here for a link to the PHIL 338 Electronic Dropbox.

 

STUDY QUESTIONS AND TRANSPARENCIES:

·      Mon. –Tues. June 18-19:  Introduction

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Wed.-Thurs.  June 20-21:  Feinberg, Cranston, Shue, Sen, and Nussbaum

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Fri. June 22 – Tues. June 26:  Theories of Rights

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Wed June 27 –Thurs. June 28:  Cultural Relativism

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Fri. June 29:  Subjective and Objective Universality

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Thurs. July 5 – Fri. July 6:  Women's Rights

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Mon. July 9:  Feminist Criticisms

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Tues. July 10:  Robust Group Rights?

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Wed. July 11:  Rights Against Discrimination on the Basis of Gender and Sexual Expression

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Thurs. July 12:  International Enforcement

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

·      Fri. July 13 – Mon. July 16:  Consideration of Objections and Conclusion

    Study Questions

    Transparencies

           

Return to Talbott Home Page