WORKSHOP AGENDA

Note: we would like to add 30 min to each day; we will discuss how to do this on Monday.

See also the General Information page.

Talks

Activities

Time Topic Speaker
Monday, July 16
9:00 am Workshop welcome and introductions Greg Snow
Welcome to Snowmass-2001 Dr. Chris Quigg, Fermi Nat'l Lab
9:30 Overview of SALTA Jeff Wilkes
10:30 Break
10:45 In parallel:
  1. Oscilloscope use, analog & digital signals
  2. Polishing/preparing scintillator panels
SALTA staff
12:15 pm Lunch
1:30 Introduction to cosmic rays Jim Pinfold
2:30 In parallel:

a) Oscilloscope use, analog & digital signals

b) Polishing/preparing scintillator panels

SALTA staff
4:45 Question time
5:00 End
Tuesday, July 17
9:00 am Scintillation counters, photomultiplier tubes I Greg Snow
10:00 Interactions of charged particles in matter I Dan Claes
11:00 Break
11:15 In parallel:
  1. Oscilloscope use, analog & digital signals
  1. Polishing/preparing scintillator panels
SALTA staff
12:15 pm Lunch
1:30 Cosmic ray spectrum and ultra-high energy CRs Jeff Wilkes
2:30 Prepare for gluing PMTs to scintillator panels SALTA staff
3:30 Glue PMTs to scintillator panels, cure overnight SALTA staff
4:45 Question time
5:00 End

 

Time Topic Speaker
Wednesday, July 18
9:00 Scintillation counters, photomultiplier tubes II Greg Snow
10:00 Interactions of charged particles in matter II Dan Claes
11:00 Break
11:15 Wrapping scintillators, light leak checking SALTA staff
12:15 Lunch
1:30 Other cosmic ray experiments John Belz
2:30 Wrapping scintillators, light leak checking SALTA staff
4:45 Question time
5:00 End
Thursday, July 19
9:00 am Elementary particles and the Standard Model Jim Pinfold
10:00 SALTA fast electronics modules Vicky Mariupolskaya
10:45 Break
11:15 Threshold determination, set up counter telescopes SALTA staff
12:30 pm Lunch
1:30 Global Positioning System and time determination Jeff Wilkes
2:00 Progress at U. Alberta on GPS timing Andrew Johnston
2:15 Threshold determination, set up counter telescopes SALTA staff
4:45 Question time
5:00 End
6:00-8:00 pm SALTA PICNIC!!
Friday, July 20
9:00 am Statistics, graphing data, accidental coincidences Heather Zorn
10:00 Measuring counter efficiency SALTA staff
11:00 Break
11:15 Measuring counter efficiency SALTA staff
12:30 pm Lunch
1:30 Cosmology: Galaxies, the Universe and all that Greg Snow
2:30 Mini-experiment setup and trials SALTA staff
4:45 Question time
5:00 End
Saturday, July 21
9:00 Workshop closeout, packing, organization of post-workshop SALTA program SALTA staff
11:00 Break
11:15 Evaluation survey SALTA staff
12:30 End of workshop

 

 

Workshop organizers:
Greg Snow, U. of Nebraska, Lincoln, gsnow@unlhep.unl.edu
Jeffrey Wilkes, U. of Washington, Seattle, wilkes@u.washington.edu
Speakers:
John Belz, Montana State U., Bozeman, belz@phygrad1.physics.montana.edu
Dan Claes, U. of Nebraska, Lincoln, dclaes@unlhep.unl.edu
Andrew Johnston, U. of Alberta, Edmonton
Jim Pinfold, U. of Alberta, Edmonton, pinfold@phys.ualberta.ca
Vicky Mariupolskaya, U. of Nebraska, Lincoln, mariupolskaya@yahoo.com
Heather Zorn, U. of Washington, Seattle, hzorn@u.washington.edu
Technical Wizard:
Hans Berns, U. of Washington, Seattle, berns@phys.washington.edu
Workshop staff (Quarknet):
Tom Haff, Issaquah (WA) High School, HAFFT@issaquah.wednet.edu
Eric Muhs, Shoreline (WA) High School, ericmuhs@yahoo.com
Doretta White, U. of Texas, Austin