Mougous Lab

University of Washington

Laboratory Members

 

Principal Investigator

Joseph Mougous, Ph.D.
Professor of Microbiology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

mougous@u.washington.edu

Joseph received his undergraduate degree at Western Washington University, Bellingham, where he studied surface chemistry. He then earned his Ph.D. at the University of California, Berkeley, where he worked in Carolyn Bertozzi’s laboratory studying sulfated glycolipids of Mycobacterium tuberculosis. After completing his graduate studies, Joseph joined the laboratory of John Mekalanos at Harvard Medical School, where he characterized a type VI secretion system of Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Joseph established his laboratory at the University of Washington in 2008.

 

Senior Scientist

S. Brook Peterson
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.A., Biology and Spanish, Grinnell College
snowbp@uw.edu

 

Bioinformatics

Matthew Radey
M.S., Information Science, University of Michigan
B.A., English & Music, University of Michigan
marad@uw.edu

 

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Marcos de Moraes
Ph.D., University of Florida
B.S./M.S., Biology/Molecular Biology, Campinas State University
demoraes@uw.edu

 

See-Yeun Ting
Ph.D., Biochemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S., Life Sciences, National Yang-Ming University
seet@u.washington.edu

 

 

FoSheng Hsu
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Molecular and Cell Biology, Cornell University
B.A., Microbiology, University of Washington
fosheng@uw.edu

 

 

Dustin Bosch
M.D., Ph.D., University of North Carolina
B.S., Chemistry, University of North Dakota
dustbos@uw.edu

 

 

Beth Shen
Ph.D., Biochemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S. Biochemistry, Bradley University
bshen4@uw.edu

 

Graduate Students 

HannahHannah Ledvina
B.S., Microbiology, University of Arizona
Bacterial Pathogenesis Graduate Student Training Grant Recipient
Microbiology Program
hledvina@uw.edu

 

KevinKevin Cutler
B.S., Physics, University of Washington
Physics Program
kcutler@uw.edu

 

Lab Technician


Daniel McLeod
B.S., Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Oklahoma State University
djmcleod@uw.edu

 

Rotation Students

JacobJacob Frick
Microbiology Program

 

Robin CagleRobin Cagle
Microbiology Program

 

Undergraduates

Pia Andrade
Major: Microbiology
andrapia@uw.edu

 

 

Yazdan Kashani
Major: Microbiology
yazdank@uw.edu

 

 

Savannah Bertolli
Major: Biochemistry
savannah.bertolli@gmail.com

 

 

Catherine Tower
Major: Biology
cattower12599@gmail.com