Mougous Lab

University of Washington

Laboratory Members

 

Principal Investigator

Joseph Mougous, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

mougous@u.washington.edu

Joseph received his undergraduate degree at Western Washington University, Bellingham, where he studied surface chemistry. He then earned his Ph.D. at the University of California, Berkeley, where he worked in Carolyn Bertozzi’s laboratory studying sulfated glycolipids of Mycobacterium tuberculosis. After completing his graduate studies, Joseph joined the laboratory of John Mekalanos at Harvard Medical School, where he characterized a type VI secretion system of Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Joseph established his laboratory at the University of Washington in 2008.

 

Senior Scientist

S. Brook Peterson
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.A., Biology and Spanish, Grinnell College
snowbp@uw.edu

 

Bioinformatics

Matthew Radey
M.S., Information Science, University of Michigan
B.A., English & Music, University of Michigan
marad@uw.edu

 

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

 

ariaAria Eshraghi
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
B.A., Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley
Bacterial Pathogenesis Postdoctoral Training Grant Recipient
ariae@uw.edu

 

Benjamin Ross
Ph.D., University of Washington
B.A., Biochemistry, Lewis & Clark College
Simons Foundation Fellow of the Life Sciences Research Foundation
bdross@uw.edu

 

Marlen Adler
Ph.D., Uppsala University
B.S./M.S., Microbiology, Uppsala University
Wenner-Gren Foundation Fellow
adlerma@uw.edu

 

Marcos de Moraes
Ph.D., University of Florida
B.S./M.S., Biology/Molecular Biology, Campinas State University
demoraes@uw.edu

 

See-Yeun Ting
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.S., Life Sciences, National Yang-Ming University
seet@u.washington.edu

 

 

Graduate Students 

image2Kaitlyn LaCourse
B.S., Biochemistry, University of New Hampshire
Cell and Molecular Biology Training Grant Recipient
klacours@uw.edu

 

 

HannahHannah Ledvina
B.S., Microbiology, University of Arizona
Bacterial Pathogenesis Graduate Student Training Grant Recipient
hledvina@uw.edu

 

Lab Technician


Katie Kelly
B.S., Microbiology, University of Minnesota Twin-Cities
kakelly2@uw.edu

 

Undergraduates

Jun Zeng
Major: Microbiology
junZ33@uw.edu

 

 

Jamie Wang
Major: Undeclared
jamiew28@uw.edu

 

 

Georgie Mullen
Major: Undeclared
georgiem33@hotmail.com

 

Rotation Students

 

Past members *

John Whitney
Elsie Shin Sawai
Seemay Chou
Alistair Russell
FoSheng Hsu
Julie Silverman
Justin DeLeon
Laura Austin
Max Ferrin
Michele LeRoux
Rachel Hood
Sandra Schwarz

* if you are a former lab member and don’t see yourself, send us a link!