Mougous Lab

University of Washington

Laboratory Members

Principal Investigator

Joseph Mougous, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology
mougous@u.washington.edu

Joseph received his undergraduate degree at Western Washington University, Bellingham, where he studied surface chemistry. He then earned his Ph.D. at the University of California, Berkeley, where he worked in Carolyn Bertozzi’s laboratory studying sulfated glycolipids of Mycobacterium tuberculosis. After completing his graduate studies, Mougous joined the laboratory of John Mekalanos at Harvard Medical School, where he characterized a type VI secretion system of Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Joseph established his laboratory at the University of Washington in 2008.

  

Senior Scientist

S. Brook Peterson
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.A., Biology and Spanish, Grinnell College
snowbp@uw.edu

 

Postdoctoral Fellows

Seemay Chou
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
B.S./B.A., Molecular and Cell Biology/Plan II, University of Texas at Austin
schou@uw.edu

John Whitney
Ph.D., University of Toronto
B.Sc., Biological Chemistry, University of Guelph
jccw@uw.edu

 

Aria Eshraghi
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
B.A., Integrative Biology, University of California, Berkeley
ariae@uw.edu

 

 

Graduate Students

Michele LeRoux
B.A., Molecular Biology, Colgate University
mleroux@uw.edu

Alistair Russell
B.A., Biology/Microbiology, Cornell University
abr28@uw.edu

Kaitlyn LaCourse
B.S., Biochemistry, University of New Hampshire
klacours@uw.edu

Alan Bohn
B.S., Genetics/Microbiology, North Carolina State University
ajbohn@uw.edu

 

Lab Technicians

IMG_9479Brittany Harding
B.S., Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, University of Washington
britth9@uw.edu

 

Robin Kirkpatrick
B.S., Bioengineering, University of Washington
kirkpr@uw.edu 

 

Undergraduates

Max Ferrin
Major: Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
mferrin@uw.edu 

Elena Montauti
Major: Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
montauti@uw.edu

 

Rachel Kim
Major: Environmental Health
jrkim08@uw.edu

Supriya Dublish
Major: Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
sdublish@uw.edu

Elsie Shin Sawai
Intended Major: Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
sawais@uw.edu 

 

Past members

Brooks Olson
Danielle Agnello
Delia Pinto-Santini
FoSheng Hsu
Guillaume Dejean
Julie Silverman
Justin DeLeon
Laura Austin
Li Mo
Mike Carl
Nick Andring 
Phil Tatman
Rachel Hood
Rex Trinidad
Sandra Schwarz 
Taylor Gardiner
Tuzun Guvener
Yin-Yin Wang