

#### www.acm.org/upe/

# UPE NewsBrief - Scholarship Awards & New Chapters - December 2023

2023 Scholarship Awards - Each year the Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon evaluates many scholarship applications from students at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. All scholarship applicants are required to complete a comprehensive application form including a statement on their long-term plans in the profession, a summary of their contributions to their respective UPE chapters and related student activities at their college or university. Applicants are also required to submit all college-level transcripts and a recommendation from the UPE faculty adviser. Council is pleased to present our list of Scholarship Awards for 2023.

*UPE Named Award* – The Dan Drew Award is UPE's highest scholarship award and is presented to the applicant who, in the eyes of the Executive Council, is the most outstanding applicant in 2023. This award is named after Dr. Dan Drew, a UPE pioneer, who was the principal adviser to the six CS students who are credited with the founding of UPE at Texas A&M University in 1967.

UPE & UPE/ACM Scholarship Recipients for 2023 – \$45,500 will be Distributed to 27 UPE
Members and 6 Student Members of the ACM

**Dan Drew Award (\$4,000)** 

Sonia Manalo Pascua Drexel University

**UPE Executive Council Awards (\$2,500)** 

Anoushka Chintada University of California, Los Angeles

Joseph T. Furmanowski Monmouth University

Sikha Pentyala University of Washington Tacoma

Jason W Rosales Fairfield University

#### *UPE Academic Achievement Awards (\$1,500)*

Hamnah Irfan St. Joseph's University – New York

Neil Ajit Kale Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Jan Neumann Czech Technical University in Prague

Shivika Prasanna University of Missouri – Columbia

Rachel L Prusacki Salisbury University Kiran Ramjisingh Monmouth University

James R. Ruvituso Iona University

Sheryl Giovanni Tania Brigham Young University – Hawaii

Haotong Zhu Towson University

#### **UPE Scholarship Awards (\$1,000)**

Elyse Paige Adamo Lehigh University

Phillip Bradley Edwards East Tennessee State University

Amr Elsayed Baylor University

Dustin William Keller University of Bridgeport

Anousha A Mehta Lehigh University

Samuel Oluwatobi Olatunde Midwestern State University

Zishan Shao Wake Forest University

Trung Vu University of California, Los Angeles

Rishabh S Wadhawan Stevens Institute of Technology

Ram Jitendrabhai Zaveri West Virginia University

Xishi Zhu University of Alabama

## **UPE Honorable Mention Awards (\$500)**

Mahmoud Tarek Elbatouty University of North Florida Karim Hussien University of North Florida

**UPE/ACM Student Chapter Scholarship Awards** – UPE is pleased to announce the 2023 recipients of the UPE/ACM scholarship awards. These awards are presented to students who are active members of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

## 2023 UPE/ACM Scholarship Awards (\$1,000)

John Billos Wake Forest University

Joseph Furmanowski Monmouth University

Kushagra Gupta Indian Institute of Technology Delhi

Didem Cicek Simsek University of Ottawa

Raven (Ting) Wei University of North Carolina Charlotte

Evan Zelt Wake Forest University

# New UPE Chapters for 2023

The Executive Council of UPE is pleased to announce the establishment of UPE chapters at the following colleges and universities:

Kean University, New Jersey Fairfield University, Connecticut Mount Saint Mary College, New York

### **About Upsilon Pi Epsilon**

- ❖ Founded at Texas A&M University in 1967
- ❖ For students, faculty and computing professionals who exhibit superior scholastic and professional achievement in the computing & information disciplines
- ❖ The only International Honor Society for the computing and information disciplines, duly recognized as such by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and IEEE Computer Society
- ❖ Member of the ACHS (Association of College Honor Societies) the parent organization for academic honor societies in North America
- Founding sponsor of the ICPC International Collegiate Programming Contest
- ❖ Founded the Ph.D. dissertation competition for CS majors known today as the ACM Doctoral Dissertation Awards
- ❖ Founding member of IFEES International Federation of Engineering Education Societies
- ❖ Has chapters at over 300 colleges and universities in the U.S. and overseas
- ❖ Presents scholarship awards to student members of UPE, the ACM, the CCSC, and the IEEE-CS
- Founding sponsor of the ABACUS Award

#### **UPE Executive Council Members and Officers**

**Orlando Madrigal**, Ph.D. California State U., Chico *UPE Executive Director* 

**Daniela Raicu**, Ph.D. DePaul University Ex-Officio Council Member **Jeff Popyack**, Ph.D. Drexel University *UPE President* 

**Peter Clarke,** Ph.D. Florida International University *Council Member*  **Ioan Raicu** Ph.D. Illinois Institute Of Technology *Council Member* 

**Geoffrey Draper**, PhD. Brigham Young University Hawaii *Council Member* 

**Bill Poucher**, Ph.D. Baylor University *Alumni Representative* 

Eric Ackerman, Ph.D.
Perry Ellis International
Webmaster/IT Industry Liaison

www.acm.org/upe/ Email: upe@acm.org Phone: (530) 518-8488