The ICI Award for Excellence in Chemistry is given annually to two chemists worldwide. In 1993, the award went to Professor Michael H. Gelb (University of Washington) and Professor Dennis Dougherty (California Institute of Technology). The award consists of a gold medal and an honorarium. In addition, the winners present a lecture at a symposium held at ICI Pharmaceuticals. An additional lecture was given by Professor Peter Dervan (California Institute of Technology).