February 2017 - Neurocalendar

Sunday	Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday	Saturday
			1	2	3	4
	d Macular Degeneration Nonth / Wise Mental Hea		Granville Stanley Hall, founder of the American Psychological Association (APA), was born in 1844.	In 1859, the world's first mental hospital for criminals opened in New York.	The first woman in the US to earn an MD, Elizabeth Blackwell, was born in 1821.	
5	6	7	8	9	10	11
Nobel laureate Alan L. Hodgkin was born in 1914.	In 1838, Eduard Hitzig was born. He examined the electrical excitability of the brain.	Psychologist Alfred Adler was born in 1870. Nobel laureate Ulf von Euler was born in 1905.	In 1892, Selig Hecht was born. His research is the foundation of modern vision theory.	Elizabeth Munsterberg Koppitz was born in 1919. She was an expert in learning disabilities.	In 1923, German physicist Konrad Roentgen died. He discovered X-rays and won the first Nobel prize in physics.	The journal Behavioral Neuroscience was first published in 1983.
12	13	14	15	16	17	18
Charles Darwin, who developed the theory about evolution by natural selection, was born in 1809.	In 1882, Jean-Martin Charcot presented the first paper about hypnotism to the French Academy of Sciences.		Hans Henning, an early researcher on the senses of smell and taste, was born in 1885.			In 1790, Marshall Hall was born. He pioneered the study of reflex physiology.
19	20	21	22	23	24	25
Ophthalmologist Hermann Snellen was born in 1834. He developed the Snellen eye test.	The Journal of Psychology was first published in 1936.		Adolphe Qutelet was born in 1796. He was the first to use the word "statistics."	Allan M. Cormack, who won the Nobel prize for his work with computer-assisted tomography, was born in 1924.	The first mental hospital, inspired by a priest's sermon, was founded in Spain in 1409.	The antipsychotic drug Loxitane was approved by the FDA in 1975.
26	27	28				
	David H. Hubel, who won the Nobel prize for his work on the visual system, was born in 1926. Ethologist and Nobel prize winner Konrad Z.	James D. Watson and Francis H.C. Crick announce the structure of DNA in 1953.				