Geography 207 Economic Geography

Autumn 2012

Instructor: William B. Beyers, Professor of Geography, Emeritus, 406A Smith Hall

Telephone: 543-5871 E-mail: beyers@u.washington.edu

Internet: http://faculty.washington.edu/beyers/

Office Hours: MWF 10AM-10:20 or 11:30AM Noon or by appointment

Course Description:

The changing locations and spatial patterns of economic activity, including: production in agriculture, manufacturing, and services; spatial economic principles of trade, transportation, communications, and corporate organization; regional economic development, and the diffusion of technological innovation.

Syllabus & Links to Lecture Notes

Text: The World Economy by Frederick P. Stutz and Barney Warf. Sixth Edition..

Teaching Assistant: Will McKeithen

E-mail:wmck@uw.edu Office: Smith 413, Office Hours: to be arranged

Tentative Schedule of Lectures & Discussion Sections

M Sept. 24

No Class: Beyers in Europe

W Sept 26

Introduction, Overview, Chapter 1 Economic Geography: An Introduction Intro207_Au2012.ppt vonHumboldt.ppt

Th Sept. 27

Discussion Sections

Fri Sept. 28

Chapter 1 Economic Geography: An Introduction, continued Chapter1b_Warf_6ed.ppt

 

 

M Oct 1

Chapter 2. Historical Development of Capitalism Chapter2_Warf_6ed.ppt Souk_Aleppo_ Syria.ppt

W Oct 3

Chapter 3 Population Chapter3_Warf_6ed.ppt

Th. Oct 4

Discussion Sections

F Oct 5

Chapter 3 continued, Population Chapter3_Warf_continued_6ed.ppt

 

 

M Oct 8

Chapter 4 Resources and the Environment Chapter4_6ed.ppt

W Oct 10

Chapter 4 continued, Resources and the Environment Chapter4a_6ed.ppt.

Th Oct. 11

Discussion Sections

Fri. Oct 12

Exercise I County Economic Profile: Distributed and Discussed in classResprob1_CountyProfile.doc Washington_2010_ESD_covered_employment.xlsx

 

 

M. Oct 15

Chapter 5 Theoretical Considerations Chapter5_Warf_6ed.ppt

W Oct 17

Chapter 5 Theoretical Considerations continued Chapter5a_Warf.ppt

Th Oct 18

Discussion Sections

Fri Oct 19

Exam I Chapters 1-5, to page 137

 

 

Mon Oct 22

Chapter 5 continued Chapter5b_Warf.ppt

Wed Oct 24

Chapter 5 continued Chapter5c_Warf.ppt

Th. Oct 25

Discussion Sections

Fri. Oct 26

Chapter 6 Agriculture Exercise I due Chapter6_Warf.ppt rent.xls

 

 

Mon Oct 29

Chapter 10 Cities and Urban Economies Chapter10_Warf.ppt

Wed Oct 31

Chapter 10 Cities and Urban Economies continued Chapter10a_Warf.ppt

Thurs Nov 1

Discussion Sections

Friday Nov. 2

Chapter 10, economic base & input-output models

 

 

Monday Nov 5

Exercise II: Impact Analysis Distributed and discussed in class EX2_data207_2012.xls impact_worksheet_207_autumn2012.xls

Wed Nov 7

Chapter 10, continued Chapter10_Warf2.ppt

Thursday Nov 8

Discussion Sections

Friday Nov 9

Exam II, Chapter 5 (p. 137 onwards) Ch 6, 10

 

 

Mon Nov 12

Veterans Day Holiday

Wed Nov 14

Ch 7 Manufacturing Chapter7_Warf.ppt

Thursday Nov 15

Discussion Sections

Friday Nov. 16

Ch 7 Manufacturing continued Chapter7a_Warf_6ed.ppt

 

 

Monday Nov.19

Exercise II Due; Exercise III Distributed, Retail Location Exercise RESPROB3.xls

Wednesday Nov 21

Ch 8 Services Chapter8_Warf_6ed.ppt

Wed Nov 21

Ch 8 Services, continued, Ch 9 Transportation and Communication

Thurs Nov 22

Thanksgiving Holiday

Friday Nov 23

Thanksgiving Holiday

 

 

Monday Nov 26

Ch 8 cont., Ch 9 Transportation and Communication,

Wed Nov. 28

Ch 9, cont. Ch 11 Consumption

Thursday Nov 29

Discussion Sections

Friday Nov. 30

Ch 12 International Trade and Investment Exercise III Due

 

 

Monday Dec 3

Ch 12 International Trade and Investment, continued, Ch 13 International Trade Patterns

Wed Dec 5

Ch 13, cont., Ch 14 Development and Underdevelopment in the Developing World

Thursday Dec 6

Discussion Sections

Friday Dec 7

Ch 14, continued. Development and Underdevelopment in the Developing World

 

There will be three research assignments over the course of the quarter, requiring the preparation of short papers reporting results of these assignments.

The grade for the course will be based on the examinations, the research assignments, and participation in the discussion sections.

Likely Distribution of Points

Exam I and Exam II - 100 points each

Final Exam 150 points

Research Exercises 35 points each

Final Examination: Monday Dec. 10 8:30AM-10:20AM