November 9, 2004


I wish to thank all faculty, staff and students who helped make this year's faculty showcase and alumni banquet a roaring success. Professors Bruce Lippke, Donald Hanley and numerous RTI staff gave an outstanding overview of the projects and technologies developed by the Rural Technology Initiative. Over 90 people attended the banquet where the following were honored:

Honorary Alumni

Bruce Lippke, BS EE University of Nebraska; MS EE New Mexico St; Executive Business Management Certificate, UW

John Calhoun, BS Forest Management Humboldt State

Honored Alumna

Cassie Phillips, BS Forest Science UW; JD UW

Distinguished Achievement Award

James Lassoie, Forest Science UW; PH D UW

Prior to the banquet, we honored Dr Thomas Friberg in recognition of his recently announced endowed fund for student excellence; Michael and Carol Lazara for their endowed fund to promote entrepreneurial forestry; and the Weyerhaeuser Company Foundation for their gifts to the College which include the Weyerhaeuser Endowed Professorship in Paper Science and Engineering; a contribution to the David R. M. Scott Endowed Professorship; and support for CINTRAFOR and the Washington Pulp and Paper Foundation.

UW President Mark Emmert made a presentation during which he congratulated the College on its on-going transformation to enhance its world-class vision. He also acknowledged the generous support the College has received from its numerous supporters and stated that he was extremely proud of what the College has done and will continue to do in the future.

The evening concluded with a slide show presentation by Dr Tony Qamar, Research Associate Professor, UW Earth and Space Sciences and Washington State Seismologist discussing the recent events surrounding the eruption of Mt St Helens.

If you were unable to attend this year, I hope you make plans now for the 2005 edition of the CFRAA Annual Banquet.

B. Bruce Bare, Dean

To Return to:Prof Bare's Page, Dean's Office, College of Forest Resources