

# UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON

Office of the Provost

**Revised** September 20, 2006

### Advisory Review Committee on the Dean of the College of Forest Resources

Ronald Irving, Interim Dean, College of Arts and Sciences, *Chair*James Agee, Professor, College of Forest Resources
Marina Alberti, Associate Professor, College of Architecture and Urban Planning
William Corbin, Executive Vice President, Weyerhaeuser Company
Brad Coston, Network Administrator, College of Forest Resources
Alison Cullen, Associate Professor, Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs
Warren Gold, Associate Professor, Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences Program, UW Bothell
Dennis Hartmann, Professor, Department of Atmospheric Sciences
James Lutz, Ph.D. Student, College of Forest Resources
John Marzluff, Professor, College of Forest Resources
Sarah Reichard, Associate Professor, College of Forest Resources
Clare Ryan, Associate Professor, College of Forest Resources
Elizabeth Van Volkenburgh, Professor, Department of Biology

### Dear Colleagues:

Thank you for agreeing to serve on the advisory committee to review the performance of B. Bruce Bare, Dean of the College of Forest Resources. This review is being conducted pursuant to Executive Order No. 20 (copy attached) of the *University Handbook*, which requires that reviews be undertaken at periodic intervals of the appointees who head major administrative and academic units.

The purpose of this review is to evaluate the performance of Dean Bare and to assess his overall effectiveness as Dean of the College of Forest Resources. Some of the critical features to be addressed in the review include Dean Bare's leadership in advancing the academic quality of the College of Forest Resources; ensuring the vitality of the College's teaching and research; managing the resources of the College; advancing the University's mission and goals; supporting diversity of faculty, staff and students; fostering interdisciplinary relations and expanding collaborative opportunities; and working with external and professional communities.

Executive Order No. 20 sets forth a procedure to be followed in conducting this review. The review committee is also specifically asked to solicit input on the Dean from all faculty, staff, and students in the College, including its Faculty Council, as well as any appropriate external

Advisory Review Committee on the Dean of the College of Forest Resources *Revised*, September 20, 2006 Page 2

groups. In addition, I have attached information on the review process and its scope to help you in your review. I would appreciate the committee's completing its work by January 16, 2007. Your confidential report should be submitted directly to me, with a copy to Dean Bare.

Interim Dean Irving's office will be in touch with you to schedule the first meeting. I will attend a portion of that meeting to discuss the review with you.

Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,

Phyllis M. Wise

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

c: Dean B. Bruce Bare

Myllis m. Li

Attachments

## **Advisory Review Committee on the Dean of the College of Forest Resources**

Ronald Irving Interim Dean and Professor College of Forest Resources Box 353765

Phone: 543-1165 Fax: 543-5462

Email: rsi@u.washington.edu

James Agee

Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor of Forest Ecology

College of Forest Resources

Box 352100 Phone: 543-2688 Fax: 543-3254

Email: jagee@u.washington.edu

Marina Alberti Associate Professor College of Architecture and Urban Planning

Box 355740 Phone: 616-8667 Fax: 685-9597

Email: malberti@u.washington.edu

William Corbin Executive Vice President Weyerhaeuser Company 1911 SW Campus Drive, #770 Federal Way, WA 98023-6473

Phone: 253-529-2050

Brad Coston Network Administrator College of Forest Resources Box 352100

Phone: 616-4058

Email: coston@u.washington.edu

Alison Cullen Associate Professor Daniel J. Evans School of Public Affairs Box 353055

Phone: 616-1654 Fax: 685-9044

Email: alison@u.washington.edu

## Advisory Review Committee on the Dean of the College of Forest Resources, Cont.

Warren Gold

Associate Professor

Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences Program, UW Bothell

Box 358530 Phone: 352-5409 Fax: 352-5233

Email: wgold@u.washington.edu

Dennis Hartmann

Professor

Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Box 351640 Phone: 543-7460 Fax: 543-0308

Email: dennis@atmos.washington.edu

James Lutz

Ph.D. Student, College of Forest Resources

Box 352100 Phone: 543-5776

Email: jlutz@u.washington.edu

John Marzluff

Professor

College of Forest Resources

Box 352100 Phone: 616-6883 Fax: 685-0790

Email: corvid@u.washington.edu

Sarah Reichard Associate Professor

College of Forest Resources

Box 354115 Phone: 616-5020 Fax: 685-2692

Email: reichard@u.washington.edu

Clare Ryan

Associate Professor

College of Forest Resources

Box 352100 Phone: 616-3987

Email: cmryan@u.washington.edu

Elizabeth Van Volkenburgh

Professor

Department of Biology

Box 355325 Phone: 543-6286 Fax: 685-1728

Email: lizvanv@u.washington.edu